Vegetarian Black Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious! Will definitely make again soon. Hubby thought the cilantro taste was too strong but that's just a personal preference. Will cut it in half next time. We used low fat cream cheese and cut the amount of cheddar in half to cut some calories and I don't think this affected the flavor at all...yum. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was a delicious enchilada. I gave it four stars because I was hoping for a vegan recipe. I was surprised how wonderful it smelled cooking in the oven. The cilantro salsa gave this dish a real authentic taste. The only change I made was to use canned white sweet shoepeg corn. Next time I will try to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I substituted whole black beans for refried beans and corn tortillas for flour. I just microwaved the corn tortillas beforehand so they were easier to roll. Made about 10. Also, didn't have green chiles on hand, but used salsa verde in its place, el pato sauce (spicy Mexican tomato sauce) and the rest of the ingredients in the recipe. It came out wonderfully! Best enchiladas I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I substituted sliced jalapeno's for the chiles, and used a little more than 4oz to spice things up, everyone thought it was great! The enchiladas are VERY filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The recipe was very tame and my kids thought it tasted more like a bean burrito than an enchilada and I have to agree. I will try again but I will add diced jalapeno peppers and chili powder to the mix and probably cut the cream cheese since I don't feel a need to have such creamy enchiladas and it will make it healthier too. I think I'll go with whole black beans instead as well.Fortunately I ran low on Cilantro and only put in half and it still came through strong so I'd suggest halving it unless you really like a lot of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner and it was wonderful! I didn't have any salsa on hand so I added 1/2C diced tomato and a heaping T of jalapeños to the food processor - turned out delicious. I'm a vegetarian and am always looking for something new to add to the dinner menu. My husband said this one needs to be on repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Excellent. A bit time consuming so plan ahead, but the flavor is wonderful. My husband loved it! Thanks for a terrific recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING!!! A must try for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was a really great recipe... I lowered the calorie count a bit by using light cream cheese, fat free re-fried beans and light sour cream. I also used chipotle peppers in adobo sauce instead of green chiles to give it a bit more kick. It was great, and the leftovers just got better and better, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We added 1 can of veg refried beans + 1 can of black beans. We also added 2 chipolte chilis in adobo sauce to the sauce (KEY!!!). This was fantastic! Would serve with rice and lettuce shredded to top enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States