Vegetarian Black Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Made this tonight... Veganized it by using 'Follow Your Heart' Vegan cream cheese and 'Daiya' Monterrey Jack instead of cheddar. Also used corn tortillas instead of flour. Thus making this both vegan and gluten free. Left out the corn because my wife doesn't like it. Also used some roasted hatch green chile's I had in the freezer rather than canned green chiles. The enchiladas were great, but don't hold up very well. I think it might hold up better with flour tortillas. I'll continue to use corn though to keep it gluten free. Maybe next time I'll skip putting the enchilada sauce beneath the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is my first review and I must say this recipe is definitely worth it. Although it did take me a little longer to prep and get in the oven, I was not disappointed by the outcome. Very tasty vegetarian dish. Just the right amount of seasoning and not to spicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
These were great! I made my own refried beans using dried black beans and other ingredients and made my own whole wheat flour tortillas (recipes from another site). I left out the avocado, and forgot to use the tomatoes and sour cream. They were so filling and full of flavor. I love how much fresh vegetables are in this recipe. It's a bit time consuming, but it was worth it. Next time I might make more to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The recipe was very tame and my kids thought it tasted more like a bean burrito than an enchilada and I have to agree. I will try again but I will add diced jalapeno peppers and chili powder to the mix and probably cut the cream cheese since I don't feel a need to have such creamy enchiladas and it will make it healthier too. I think I'll go with whole black beans instead as well.Fortunately I ran low on Cilantro and only put in half and it still came through strong so I'd suggest halving it unless you really like a lot of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I substituted sliced jalapeno's for the chiles, and used a little more than 4oz to spice things up, everyone thought it was great! The enchiladas are VERY filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner and it was wonderful! I didn't have any salsa on hand so I added 1/2C diced tomato and a heaping T of jalapeños to the food processor - turned out delicious. I'm a vegetarian and am always looking for something new to add to the dinner menu. My husband said this one needs to be on repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was a really great recipe... I lowered the calorie count a bit by using light cream cheese, fat free re-fried beans and light sour cream. I also used chipotle peppers in adobo sauce instead of green chiles to give it a bit more kick. It was great, and the leftovers just got better and better, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I substituted whole black beans for refried beans and corn tortillas for flour. I just microwaved the corn tortillas beforehand so they were easier to roll. Made about 10. Also, didn't have green chiles on hand, but used salsa verde in its place, el pato sauce (spicy Mexican tomato sauce) and the rest of the ingredients in the recipe. It came out wonderfully! Best enchiladas I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Excellent. A bit time consuming so plan ahead, but the flavor is wonderful. My husband loved it! Thanks for a terrific recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING!!! A must try for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States