Vegetarian Black Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is my first review and I must say this recipe is definitely worth it. Although it did take me a little longer to prep and get in the oven, I was not disappointed by the outcome. Very tasty vegetarian dish. Just the right amount of seasoning and not to spicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
That was delicious! The things I did differently were to cook the black beans from dried (after soaking them all night) in water and about 1/2 cup of tomato sauce in the slow cooker. Then, I did not have any vegetable stock on hand so I used a little bit of tomato sauce and water as a substitute. I also did not have the mild green chilies, so I used a couple of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce with a little milk to soften the spice. The change to the chipotle did add a kick to the sauce which I liked but the subtleties that may have been there with the milder green chilies were lost. I will try the mild next time as suggested in the recipe. This would be a great thing to make ahead and freeze too. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Made this tonight... Veganized it by using 'Follow Your Heart' Vegan cream cheese and 'Daiya' Monterrey Jack instead of cheddar. Also used corn tortillas instead of flour. Thus making this both vegan and gluten free. Left out the corn because my wife doesn't like it. Also used some roasted hatch green chile's I had in the freezer rather than canned green chiles. The enchiladas were great, but don't hold up very well. I think it might hold up better with flour tortillas. I'll continue to use corn though to keep it gluten free. Maybe next time I'll skip putting the enchilada sauce beneath the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was really good! My husband rarely rates my vegetarian fare higher than a 6. This got a 9 out of 10! I used the juice of the entire lime, otherwise made as recipe instructs. Will try leftovers out on the toddlers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ERnurseFL
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Incredibly delicious! Worth the extra time in preparation. Followed recipe to a T, served with spanish rice, black beans and small salad. It is very filling, will use smaller tortillas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Made some minor changes: cooked veggies in bacon grease instead of oil, used regular black beans instead of refried (what I had on hand), totally forgot the cheddar cheese, and didn't bother with any of the toppings. The family loved it. I am positive they'll love it even more with the cheddar and refried black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This filling is so good that I might have to make it alone as a dip sometime. The sauce is great too with the cilantro and lime. Next time I might add a jalapeño as well. Flour tortillas definitely hold together better than corn, but though with corn it might be more of a casserole, it will still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Ummm... I added diced raw sweet potatoes in with the onion/ bean mixture. ** highly recommended ** Also, the homemade enchilada sauce?!?! It's is amazing. I'm more likely to repeat that than the whole recipe. All in all, delicious enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
These were great! I made my own refried beans using dried black beans and other ingredients and made my own whole wheat flour tortillas (recipes from another site). I left out the avocado, and forgot to use the tomatoes and sour cream. They were so filling and full of flavor. I love how much fresh vegetables are in this recipe. It's a bit time consuming, but it was worth it. Next time I might make more to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Freaking incredible. Husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States