Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Thank for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon d bryant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love this and the many variations I have completed (adjusted for what's on hand) and yes, soften the lentils first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Doubled the raisins, and used golden raisins instead of regular ones. It was very delicious. I served it to a picky vegan friend of mine, and she loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Very good, but could use some tweaking. Making your own curry blend would add a fantastic dimension to the meal as the quality of your spice blend will make or break the dish. I also like a spicier curry, this was very mild and I ended up jazzing it up with red pepper flakes and extra cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is excellent and so easy to make! I added more canned tomatoes, beans and I also added coconut milk. I'm not a chef, so to all struggling cooks out there....this is for you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! It will now be a staple in our home! It's so ridiculously easy! Changes I made: I used one can of crushed tomoatoes (about 14 oz insead of 28) and used fire-roasted crushed tomatoes instead of plain. I added about two cups of vegetable broth and one can coconut milk. I also added a tbsp of ground coriander seed. And a pinch of red pepper flakes. It was UH-MA-ZING! YUM YUM YUM. Oh, I didn't pre-cook the lentils, and had no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Fantastic! This was my first time using curry in a dish, and it was a big hit. I went easy on the black pepper because I didn't want it to be too spicy, but next time I'll be more generous ... and maybe add some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is really good. Don't leave out the raisins...you'll regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was really good! I was skeptical about the raisins but they really added a great, touch of sweetness to the strong flavor of the curry. I followed some of the other reviewers and added about a 1/3 cup of coconut milk right at the end of the cook time and added a tbsp of garam masala when adding the seasonings. This recipe makes a up a full pan of food, so if you are only two persons you can easily cut the recipe in half and probably both still have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I'm a huge fan. Recipe definitely comes out better if you cook the lentils a head of time or you'll be going through gallons of vegetable broth to cook 'em up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States