Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This recipe is fairly simple, healthy, and quite tasty too (at least with the few improvisations I used!). I made it with the array of veggies I had in the fridge--some broccoli, zucchini, red and yellow pepper, and baby carrot--and fried the onion, garlic, ginger and tofu in a mix of regular vegetable oil and toasted sesame oil. I used half the tofu called for, and made more of the sauce. The sauce really was key, and its flavor can be adjusted easily. I did not find the meal to be bland, and I didn't need extra salt. As I do for many Asian food recipes, I topped it off with nuts, sliced almonds this time. Thanks for the recipe, particularly the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
A lot of steps, but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Great recipe. Needs a little salt but otherwise good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This recipe had so many vegetables that it was very nutritious. But like everyone else it was so bland. The recipe doesn't even yield any salt, so I forgot to add my own. Everyone complained about it. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Not a bad stir fry recipe! I was concerned about the reviews that said it was bland and tasteless so I made a few changes. I added an extra Tbs of garlic and ginger (but I LOVE both). And use the real stuff! Powder doesn't have as much flavor. I sprinkled the tofu with s&p and cornstarch and fried it in another pan. I separated the bok choy and cooked the thick stalk part before I added the leafy part so the leaves wouldn't get soggy. The most important thing is to make sure that the veggies aren't overcooked otherwise it'll be soggy and all the flavors will mush together. Last of all, make sure that the sauce is very thick!! It will be bland and runny if you mix it together too early. I think next time I'll try using sesame oil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This recipe was not terrible, but it was definitely not delicious. If you're looking for something to enjoy rather than just tolerate, I recommend getting a LOT more creative than this. This stir-fry sauce was a little bit tangy and has potential, but is by no means delectable as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I wouldn't make this recipe again. It was edible and did not taste bad, but was unexciting in flavor and not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Wonderful!!! Only used 1/2 the suggested amount of vinegar. Came out delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This recipe turned out well. I didn't have all of the required ingredients (i.e. fresh ginger) but the taste was decent. I think the sauce is what pulls it all together and really now that I have the sauce recipe it can be used on just about any stir fry. I liked not using much oil but had to add some to the pan because the garlic was sticking so much. Next time I make this I will cook the tofu first and then add in the garlic and onions. I also baked the tofu for a few minutes before adding to the pan per another reviewers suggestion but next time I will bake it longer. Tofu is just so hard to cook. Overall though my husband and I really enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
ease in preparation. It provided opportunity to have both a meat or meatless meal. real enjoyed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States