Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I thought this was just wonderful! like others, I baked the tofu first, and I used sesame oil. I did use different vegetables, only red and green bell peppers, carrots, and broccoli, and I doubled the sauce. Overall, I thought this was very flavorful, even though I forgot the crushed pepper! I didn't think it needed salt...soy sauce is very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Very good, did need a little salt but that's no big deal. I would try it again w/chicken or beef. My boyfriend who had never had tofu before really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I tried this tonight and it turned out great! I did mess up on the sauce and put all the ingredients in at once, so it was a bit thin, but still tasted good. My culinary adviser (a.k.a. Mom) suggested using sherry instead of the vinegar. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
The sauce was great but I cut the tofu into strips instead of cubes so it could have a more fried texture to simulate a beef stir-fry. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I really liked this recipie. Making it directly according to the recipie, I did think it needed a 'kick' so I added some spicy asian sauce, and it was perfect. I used pre-spiced tofu (half what the recipie calls for) and also added some shrimp. I didn't have bamboo shoots, but it didn't make a difference. I really liked this recipie and my husband, who refuses to eat tofu, even liked it and requested that I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This recipe is fairly simple, healthy, and quite tasty too (at least with the few improvisations I used!). I made it with the array of veggies I had in the fridge--some broccoli, zucchini, red and yellow pepper, and baby carrot--and fried the onion, garlic, ginger and tofu in a mix of regular vegetable oil and toasted sesame oil. I used half the tofu called for, and made more of the sauce. The sauce really was key, and its flavor can be adjusted easily. I did not find the meal to be bland, and I didn't need extra salt. As I do for many Asian food recipes, I topped it off with nuts, sliced almonds this time. Thanks for the recipe, particularly the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
A lot of steps, but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Great recipe. Needs a little salt but otherwise good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This recipe had so many vegetables that it was very nutritious. But like everyone else it was so bland. The recipe doesn't even yield any salt, so I forgot to add my own. Everyone complained about it. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Not a bad stir fry recipe! I was concerned about the reviews that said it was bland and tasteless so I made a few changes. I added an extra Tbs of garlic and ginger (but I LOVE both). And use the real stuff! Powder doesn't have as much flavor. I sprinkled the tofu with s&p and cornstarch and fried it in another pan. I separated the bok choy and cooked the thick stalk part before I added the leafy part so the leaves wouldn't get soggy. The most important thing is to make sure that the veggies aren't overcooked otherwise it'll be soggy and all the flavors will mush together. Last of all, make sure that the sauce is very thick!! It will be bland and runny if you mix it together too early. I think next time I'll try using sesame oil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States