Vegetable and Tofu Stir-fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Not a repeat recipe for us. We love stir fry, this recipe was heavy on ginger and lacked other flavor. Just ok, and we're left disappointed that we used all of our fresh ingredients for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I love tofu, but not this recipe. It was too bland and required a lot of hot sauce at the table just to taste like something. Maybe some cilantro would have helped? Doubling the garlic, ginger and pepper flakes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was really fresh, healthy and fantastic! It was a perfect dinner after hitting the gym. Fortunately, I had most of the ingredients except fresh ginger (I used ginger powder), bamboo shoots and baby corn (which I don't care for anyways). I put it all together in a wok and it came out beautifully. I also didn't have the crushed red pepper so I squeezed some sriracha over it towards the end. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I tried following the recipe as best I could and the sauce didn't taste right. A little too overpowering and not what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is my go-to stir fry recipe. It works with any veggies (I usually throw in onions, broccoli, bell peppers, and snap peas.) To fry the veggies and tofu I use vegetable oil with a sprinkle a combo of sesame seed oil. I like to use extra firm tofu, and before I put it in the pan, I pat it dry with paper towels, then coat with cornstarch to get a subtle crunch. The sauce is the best part. Sooo easy, and yummy! I sometimes sprinkle ginger powder and red pepper flakes in while it's simmering for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I didn't have rice wine vinegar and substituted regular white vinegar. The honey I used also seemed to have a particularly strong smell and sweetness. The dish came out a bit strong tasting. Maybe I'll try it again with different honey or use less?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was my first time cooking with tofu and fresh ginger so I was happy that it came out edible. I baked the tofu on 350 for about 15 minutes. Don't be gentle with it when cutting as that's when it tends to crumble. Stir-fry is all about the sauce. I found this sauce to be sweet and somewhat tangy. I didn't follow the recipe to the T-spoon, but it was still good. I don't know if I could crave this stir-fry, though, because I'm not a huge fan of sweet entrees. There are a lot of vegetables so I had to double the sauce called for and it turned out perfect. Nothing wrong with extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Nice, simple and fast. I used my preferred vegetables (broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, snowpeas, baby corn) and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This dish was pretty good. I really liked the sauce. Next time I'll probably substitute some of the veggies with ones I prefer more, like broccoli and asparagus. It didn't really re-heat all that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I doubled the ginger and garlic and cooked all the vegetables in a thai stock I bought from Wegmans to cut the fat. I grilled the tofu on the George Foreman and added that last, but ended up just using sesame oil and lite soy sauce to season everything because the sauce wasn't a good mix of flavors at all. I liked the veggie combination, but that could have just been a result of throwing a bunch of veggies in a pan and cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States