Vegetable and Feta Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe needs some major help, and I have no suggestions other than adding an onion. It was a lot of work for disappointing results. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Sorry to give these a bad review, but they were tasteless and boring, and also very time consuming. My husband took one bite, and gave me the "look". My 3 and 6 year olds liked them somewhat, but only because I told them they were "homemade chicken nuggets". Out of all of us, the dog enjoyed this highly expensive dish the most...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I was really very impressed with these. If you take the potato mixture in your hands and take the time to shape them nicely, they really look beautiful when golden. The parsley is nice touch, I think I would miss it if i hadnt added it. No one in my family has ever raved about feta cheese or zuchinni (sp?) But what a success. I made it a point to keep everyone out of the kitchen when I was preparing them and not to let in on the healthy ingredients. I served with applesauce along with grilled pork chops I made with a papaya/pineapple marinade. marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIE3WISHZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Sorry, but I just found these to be bland and boring. We ate them, and they were okay, but I don't have much interest in making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Yum! I didn't get all of the liquid out, as I didn't have cheese cloth, so they fell part. They were still tasty, but I'll use cheese cloth next time to squeeze out the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
awesome recipe! I added a small onion to it and I think the next time I make it I'll add some garlic. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles the cat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Wow. I've never had latkes before, but these were so delicious. In place of one cup of zucchini, I used another reviewer's advice and mixed in some baby spinach. So glad I did! And although this might be sacrilege, I substituted crushed saltines for the matzo meal. What a special treat. I'm saving half of the batter in the fridge for later; hopefully it keeps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These are delicious and so easy to make! I then tried a modified version of the recipe by adding a little more feta cheese, some garlic powder, and one small onion. After frying, I baked them at 350 degrees in the oven for about 10 minutes to crisp them up even more. My family ate them with sour cream. These tasty potato pancakes disappeared within minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I cannot tell you how crazy my girls went over these, and me too! I don't think I'll ever make the plain ones again. I used whole wheat matzo and probably a little more potato to carrot and zucchini ratio, but nevertheless they were amazing. I am not crazy about feta but they didn't taste like feta at all, yet there was a nice saltiness to them that must have come from it. Hard to explain just try them and you'll see what I mean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
One of the best latkes I have ever made. Appreciated by the whole family. I added a drop more flour to soak up some more of the water in the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States