Vegetable and Feta Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made these with summer squash, substituted dill for the parsley and added red onion. I also used flour instead of matzo meal and omitted the potatoes and carrots b/c I just needed to use up the squash. I also only used 2 eggs. But they were AMAZING! SO delicious and flavorful. I'm going to try them with the zucchini next. Definitely a must-try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Delicious. I've never made Latkes before and I was surprised at how easy it was. Instead of cooking them in vegetable oil, I sprayed my waffle iron with nonstick cooking spray and spooned on the mixture. It only took about 5 minutes per batch. A nice side dish to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
LOVED this! to the T except no parsley and added little onion. yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachelcschmitt
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Wow, these are great! I'm a beginner cook so I was afraid these would be too hard for me. But I followed the recipe exactly as it says and they came out perfect. I thought they were gonna fall apart on me because I didn't use a cheese cloth to get out all the moisture but they stayed together just fine. I used paper towels to soak up the moisture. These definitely weren't as hard as I expected. I watched a lot of videos on latkes and read about how to make them and the whole process seemed so technical but, seriously, they were so easy. The grating and stirring is a lot of work but the frying part is easy - just make sure you don't burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelcschmitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I adjusted slightly due to dietary needs but only reduced zucchini by 1 cup and used no salt but other than that followed recipe. It was very very good. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used panko bread crumbs and flour as the binding agent (added until batter was sufficiently dry) and I baked some in small muffin pans and fried others. Both types were a hit. I'll do them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
We just had these for dinner and really liked them. I'm taking the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Quick, easy, and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is a bit time consuming, but worth it. I refrigerated the patties on wax paper until ready to fry up, and no harm done. Served it with pork and the company loved it. If you like onion, it is a 1/2 cup must add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Even with modifications these were tasteless. Didn't even taste like potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Some are complaining that these aren't flavorful. I personally think latkes aren't flavorful, but a person can do much to increase the flavor by adding some hot pepper sauce, onion, whatever your preference is. If you don't want carrots, use some sweet potato that has been grated or finely mince some red (not hot) pepper or a yellow or orange pepper. Get creative on this or any other recipe. You don't have to be bound to what a recipe says. Use your imagination. I personally like this recipe as written, but when I make it next time I would use onion and no garlic powder (can't have garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States