Vegetable Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious! I have made this twice now, adjusting amounts to personal preference, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Five star excellent, based on the fact that I used half long grain white rice and half wild rice. I'm not so sure either Hubs or I would care for it so much with just the wild rice. Because of the rosemary and thyme (I used fresh), this is undeniably a much more interesting and "exciting" rice side dish than most. Because of the long cooking time I cooked both the wild and long grain rice earlier in the day to make dinner preparation quicker. I cooked half the amount of wild rice in the full amount of broth for 45 minutes, then added the long grain rice for another 20 minutes or so, until the liquid was all absorbed. This was the ideal accompaniment to "Herb Crusted Halibut," also from this site. Other than using a mix of long grain and wild rice, I wouldn't change anything in this recipe. It's beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ninabean15
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Love! I didn't have any celery on hand so I used a little celery seed instead. I used all wild rice in this. It appears that that was not the case in the other photos. This recipe is a total keeper and WAY better than box mix (and better for me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninabean15

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhame, North Dakota, USA
Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is really good! I changed it up a little because I wanted to use my rice cooker. I cooked the veggies (plus a carrot) in a pan on the stove, then combined them with the rice (half wild, half brown), spices (doubled), and chicken broth in the rice cooker and let it go. I only used 3 1/2 C chicken broth and no water to adjust for my rice cooker. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is one good dish. It is a GREAT starting point.I altered it a bit by using all chicken broth and a mix of shallots and scallions. I also doubled the mushroom amount and used shitakes (I think shitakes are key). I also toasted half a cup of pine nuts to top it with. It added flavor and crunch. Oh, instead of using vegetable oil to saute the veggies I used half oil/half butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sniatkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This needs double the seasoning than listed. Otherwise, it was great with my baked fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Flavors were great! I used fresh rosemary and thyme from my garden. I'm rating it lower because there is way too much liquid in this. My gut instinct from the beginning was that it was too much and I should of cut back, instead followed the recipe. Rice was soggy. I've never heard of a rice recipe, where you drain it at the end. I think if the liquid proportions were correct this could be a great recipe, as the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I halved this recipe and used fresh thyme and rosemary since I'm growing both. I did have to adjust the liquid and cooking time since the rice I was using was a blend. I love the combination of flavors this recipe offers! A real keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made this for a dinner party and everyone enjoyed. It was very easy to prepare. If you are pressed for time the evening of the meal, I suggest cooking the rice the night before and then mixing it with the vegetables and reheat the night of the dinner to cut down on prep time. I also used less wild rice (1.5 c) since that was all that I had and used 0.5 c of brown rice. It was great mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love to Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very good. Great flavor. I followed the recipe (except for reducing salt to a pinch) and I added some toasted pecans at the end, which were fabulous. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States