Vegetable Tom Yum Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I love love love this soup! Ingredients like the chicken stock, fish sauce, and veggies were easily found at Walmart. The other ingredients like galangal, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass, and shallots were at my local Asian market (but I needed help finding them.) Like others, I also followed the recipe closely, but I added some broccoli then steamed rice, and it was delicious. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was super yummy! I only used one tbsp of chili paste, any more would have been too much. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I liked it but needed to tweak it a tad to get it to my taste....was a bit too much chili and lime for me....lime was a tad too sour and I know it is Thai and usually spicy....but I did like mine toned down a tad...ended up likeing it to my taste using 2 TB chili paste and 6 TB lime...so 2/3 the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I basically liked this recipe. Normally I cheat and use Tom Yum paste from my Asian supermarket, so it was a nice surprise to approximate the taste myself. I found it slightly too salty and sour, though. Next time will cut back on the lime juice and fish sauce. And I wanted some protein, so I added in deveined, shelled, raw prawn. After we had eaten, I went back and tinkered with the broth some more to see if I could improve it. I added sugar, and voila, all better! The sweet element was the missing flavor that I was looking for. I have to admit I also missed the bit of fat from coconut milk here, but I guess that's a whole different soup, isn't it? Tom Ka Gai, anyone? : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivan
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
my wife loved it, i loved it. cooking something like this is a good surprrise to the one you love. anyways, some notes for me and for others as well. - may be put more than just 1 inch for lemon grass, so for some who can't/won't eat the lemongrass it can easily be discarded. - adding shitaki mushrooms and/or button mushrooms, just sliced it once - you can use baby bok choy, sliced once - if you want hot, 5 tbps of chilli paste - for the stock, you can boil 2 pcs chicken thigh and use that liquid to for the soup and perhaps add 2 cans of non msg chicken broth. although this is a veggie soup, i improvised by adding fresh large shrimps, shrimp balls and the chicken pieces used for the stock and place that on a different serving plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I only changed the recipe slightly - I used chicken broth rather than stock and used ginger instead galangal. I also added one extra tablespoon of chili paste. Oh, I added shrimp and chicken as well, but it would have been great without either of those. I will be making this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I will actually add more spice next time, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
this was awesome with some modifications/deviations.. i halved this recipe since this was just for me and my bf.. i used chicken boullion for the chicken stock.. used 1.5 t of ground ginger instead of galangal, used the zest of one small lemon since i didn't have the lime leaves, added one more T of hot chile paste, added 2 dried red chiles (we love spicy), substituted light soy sauce for fish sauce, didn't have lime and used the juice of 1.5 small lemons, diced half of a small onion in place of the shallots, diced up some beefsteak tomato since that's what i had, used regular shredded cabbage instead of bok choy, sliced up the rest of my baby carrots i had in the fridge, used at least twice the amount of cilantro and threw it in while the soup was simmering.. didn't bother adding the green onions.. basically made this work on the cheap.. ty for the inspiration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I turned down the heat substantially because my wife can't eat spicy food. I substituted 3 teaspoons of dried ginger for the galangal slices. I doubled the recipe so the yield was 12 servings. I skipped the lime leaves and lemon grass. I substituted a 4 ounce can of (mild) diced chiles for the hot chile paste. Finally, I cut the fish sauce down to 3 tablespoons. This was a delicious soup for a cold winter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out really great. I was reluctant because I usually go with chicken when ordering this at restaurants, but in the end I felt that the carrots and bok choy made for an excellent alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States