Vegetable Tom Yum Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
How can you have a vegetarian soup that contains chicken stock? It would be a lovely recipe if only it was made with vegetable stock or water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darzar
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe, followed it exactly until the end. I added bean curd noodles to the soup. I was unsure about eating the lemon grass and galangal as they were both still very chewy after cooking for the listed time. Please add a few more details regarding those 2 items. Thanks for the recipe I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Loved the flavors. I added broccoli to it, since the local Thai place always has them in their soup. I failed at locating Kaffir Leaves, but now I am on a mission to find them for next time. Substituted Fish Sauce for Vegan Fish Sauce to make it Vegan Friendly. Very yummy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hammond
Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I love love love this soup! Ingredients like the chicken stock, fish sauce, and veggies were easily found at Walmart. The other ingredients like galangal, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass, and shallots were at my local Asian market (but I needed help finding them.) Like others, I also followed the recipe closely, but I added some broccoli then steamed rice, and it was delicious. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was super yummy! I only used one tbsp of chili paste, any more would have been too much. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I liked it but needed to tweak it a tad to get it to my taste....was a bit too much chili and lime for me....lime was a tad too sour and I know it is Thai and usually spicy....but I did like mine toned down a tad...ended up likeing it to my taste using 2 TB chili paste and 6 TB lime...so 2/3 the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I basically liked this recipe. Normally I cheat and use Tom Yum paste from my Asian supermarket, so it was a nice surprise to approximate the taste myself. I found it slightly too salty and sour, though. Next time will cut back on the lime juice and fish sauce. And I wanted some protein, so I added in deveined, shelled, raw prawn. After we had eaten, I went back and tinkered with the broth some more to see if I could improve it. I added sugar, and voila, all better! The sweet element was the missing flavor that I was looking for. I have to admit I also missed the bit of fat from coconut milk here, but I guess that's a whole different soup, isn't it? Tom Ka Gai, anyone? : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivan
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
my wife loved it, i loved it. cooking something like this is a good surprrise to the one you love. anyways, some notes for me and for others as well. - may be put more than just 1 inch for lemon grass, so for some who can't/won't eat the lemongrass it can easily be discarded. - adding shitaki mushrooms and/or button mushrooms, just sliced it once - you can use baby bok choy, sliced once - if you want hot, 5 tbps of chilli paste - for the stock, you can boil 2 pcs chicken thigh and use that liquid to for the soup and perhaps add 2 cans of non msg chicken broth. although this is a veggie soup, i improvised by adding fresh large shrimps, shrimp balls and the chicken pieces used for the stock and place that on a different serving plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I only changed the recipe slightly - I used chicken broth rather than stock and used ginger instead galangal. I also added one extra tablespoon of chili paste. Oh, I added shrimp and chicken as well, but it would have been great without either of those. I will be making this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I will actually add more spice next time, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States