Vegetable Tom Yum Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out really great. I was reluctant because I usually go with chicken when ordering this at restaurants, but in the end I felt that the carrots and bok choy made for an excellent alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made this last night for a dinner party along with some curry and it was so good! I used ginger instead of galangal because that was all I could find. I went to Thailand about 6 years ago, and besides not having the traditional meat in it, this was very close to what I had there. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Yum! Added a bit of chopped tofu for some extra substance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisag2224

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I turned down the heat substantially because my wife can't eat spicy food. I substituted 3 teaspoons of dried ginger for the galangal slices. I doubled the recipe so the yield was 12 servings. I skipped the lime leaves and lemon grass. I substituted a 4 ounce can of (mild) diced chiles for the hot chile paste. Finally, I cut the fish sauce down to 3 tablespoons. This was a delicious soup for a cold winter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very tasty - however, it was too hot for me. Normally, I order medium spice when I order this out... So, I would suggest small additions of the hot chili so that you can get it just right for you. I ended up adding milk (didn't have any coconut milk on hand) and it is still hot but still wonderfully yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I really liked this. Loved the flavors and do agree to use the lime leaves. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I basically liked this recipe. Normally I cheat and use Tom Yum paste from my Asian supermarket, so it was a nice surprise to approximate the taste myself. I found it slightly too salty and sour, though. Next time will cut back on the lime juice and fish sauce. And I wanted some protein, so I added in deveined, shelled, raw prawn. After we had eaten, I went back and tinkered with the broth some more to see if I could improve it. I added sugar, and voila, all better! The sweet element was the missing flavor that I was looking for. I have to admit I also missed the bit of fat from coconut milk here, but I guess that's a whole different soup, isn't it? Tom Ka Gai, anyone? : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I only changed the recipe slightly - I used chicken broth rather than stock and used ginger instead galangal. I also added one extra tablespoon of chili paste. Oh, I added shrimp and chicken as well, but it would have been great without either of those. I will be making this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I will actually add more spice next time, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I love love love this soup! Ingredients like the chicken stock, fish sauce, and veggies were easily found at Walmart. The other ingredients like galangal, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass, and shallots were at my local Asian market (but I needed help finding them.) Like others, I also followed the recipe closely, but I added some broccoli then steamed rice, and it was delicious. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States