Vegetable Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Really delicious and easy, and it made enough to feed an army--but since I'm cooking for one, it means eight days of lunch (including today). I love how only a quarter teaspoon of spice makes it so flavorful. My only complaint is that it's maybe a little sweet for my taste, but that can be remedied with a little salt. Also, a word to the wise--I'd recommend using normal-sized vegetables. I went all gung-ho on this and got gigantic carrots, and by the same I finished doling the soup out into plastic containers to be frozen, it was all carrots. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe was great! Actually tasted very authentic with the exception of not actually cooking in a tagine.. I tried to mimic one of my favorite tagines I had in Morocco, so substituted the eggplant for two large red potatoes and upped the spices to 1/2 tsp. apiece and added saffron. Very good, and definitely feeds an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This turned out really well. I threw in some sausage that I had to use up, other than that I didn't change anything. It makes a lot, but you can always freeze some. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabsmom
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was good! I really love tagine, but had never had a vegetarian version before so I just had to try this. My changes and thoughts: as far as I know, traditional tagine spices are ginger, paprika, cinnamon, cumin, cayenne and saffron so the recipe was missing some - I added 1/2 tsp of each. I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes (lazy)including the juice and added about 3 cups of shredded cabbage that I needed to get rid of (not traditional, I know but it does such an amazing job soaking up the spices!). I ate this with Syrian bread which I used to scoop the veggies and soak up the broth and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very good. I, too, added with the other spices ginger, paprika, cayenne, and then I also added curry. I added 1/2 to 1 tsp of each. I also upped the other spices to 1/2 to 1 tsp based on personal preference of each spice. I served it with a side of couscous. Very good. It does make enough for an army so I will be freezing the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
yummy! great recipe - and makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This receipe makes 8 - 10 servings, especially if it is served over couscous! It adapted easily to a slow cooker: garlic, onion and oil on the bottom (did not pre-cook these), then peppers, carrots and sweet potato. Eggplant around the sides and the tomato and squash on the top--it cooked together beautifully and required only 1 can of broth instead of 3 when cooked this way. I added the garbanzo beans at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
We loved this! I used butternut squash instead of eggplant and zucchini, and the taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really great recipe! Perfect for this cold winter night. I made it vegetarian by using vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I also followed the others' advice: I used ginger, cayenne, and paprika, in addition to the spices listed. I ended up using 1/2 tsp of each (except the cayenne) and I thought it was perfect. And it had just enough kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
good recipe and, yes, makes a lot! I made the following changes: Added 2 chicken breasts cut up(cooked first w/ the onions and garlic); upped the spices to 1/2tsp each and added ginger and paprika (prob. needed more of all spices); no eggplant or green pepper; 2 zucchinis; can tomatoes; some leftover butternut squash with the sweet potatoes; served with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States