Vegetable Stuffing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I won't be making this again. The whole thing was a miss with my family, all the way around. The soup and mixed vegetable actually was just a tad off-putting. It's possible that the thickness of the french fried onions just didn't agree with the soup and veggies mixed that made it taste that way, but not for sure exactly. The stuffing mix...was what sank the boat. And here's why. 1.. I used the Savory Stove Top Stuffing mix, Followed it to a T on how this recipe was written. I only changed stirring methods, mixing the veggies and soup mix, in a separate bowl before putting in the baking pan. I did the same when drizzing the butter on the stuffing mix, to incorperated the stuffing & butter together, then placed on top of the layer of fried onions. When baked...the stuffing looked dark, harder then croutons and was just not tasty. I wondered if the butter was the down fall. And it was. After which I grabbed an unopened box of stuffing mix and read the directions on a basic stove top mix. 1-6oz box requires boiling 1 1/2 cups of water w/4TBSP of butter. Well this recipe requires 12oz of stuffing mix w/3 TBSP of melt butter & that does NOT cut it for the entire amount written. If the stuffing mix was put under the veggie mix, the liquids from the soup could have moistened the stuffing and made it soft and tasteful. And/or, mix the entire recipe all together could result in a soft hearty casserole too. But as it stands. Not worthy in making again in my kitchen. My apologies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
great! Used green beans for veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I changed this up a bit. I used frozen vegetables (broccoli, carotts, cauliflower), rice, and added cheddar cheese (grated). I kept everything else the same. I find that that texture was really good, and the meal was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was okay. My son complained that it was too crunchy with the fried onions and dry stuffing. The stuffing should be cooked first or more butter added to make this a moister dish. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I'm not a veggie lover but found this quite tasty. I halved the recipe. Thawed out a 16 oz bag of frozen mixed italian veggies in the microwave. Mixed 1 can of cream of celery soup with it. I sauted a sliced vidalia onion in olive oil instead of french fried onion. I used a 6 oz box of savory herb stove top stuffing and melted some smart balance buttery spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This was very salty. If I make this again I'll probably use 1 can of cream of celery and 1 can of cream of potato. I would also recommend using canned veggies with no salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I thought the recipe was very good. The only thing I would have done different, I would have added cheddar chesse to my vegetables just because I love chesse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the cream of celery (hate the taste of celery), and it turned out very well. My adult daughter liked it, but said it was too much work for what it was. I think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This was an okay recipe, I probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States