Vegetable-Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I would have given this a 5, and next time I make this, with modifications, it will be a 5. There was WAY TOO much vinegar. One bite and my husband spit it out. I would use a milder marinade, or just brush with olive oil and a touch of vinegar. You can really substitute any veggies for this. I used diced zucchini, diced the mushroom stems, artichokes and fresh spinach. Great overall idea with many possiblilities, just watch that vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I've been making stuffed portobellos for years in a similar fashion. The recipe changes every time based on what I have on hand. Last time I used about 3/4 cup leftover cooked basmati rice, sauteed summer squash, zucchini, tomato, onion, garlic, about 1/2 cup breadcrumbs, and 1/2 cup chedder cheese. I also like to add 1 beaten egg to help it all hold together. If you don't have time to marinate, drizzle the mushroom caps (stem side up) with a little balsamic (not too much, it can be overpowering) or soy sauce and bake for about 10 mins before topping with the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Really, really excellent vegetarian dish. I didn't have eggplant so substituted regular mushrooms which worked just fine. One change I would make would to be to cook the whole dish maybe 15-18 minutes to make the portobello a little bit more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I loved these. I didn't have an eggplant, so I used the spinach,garlic,onion, artichoke heart, and added fresh chopped roma tomatoes. I also added a little red wine to the bottom of the baking dish. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is a wonderful vegetarian recipe. To make it a bit more economical I use regular sliced mushrooms and just layer all the ingredients to make it into a casserole. I do use a little less Balsamic vinegar but otherwise follow the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Oh my! These were oh-so-good! I had to use my mushroom caps quickly but had no time to go to the store so I made a couple alterations - no eggplant, so I used a mixture of chopped white mushrooms and summer squash (which actually made this very colorful!), fresh spinach, which I just barely wilted in the pan, and no fresh tomatoes on hand so I use canned diced tomatoes. Threw some oregano in there and also cut back on the mozzarella. Finally, I had no time to marinate so I just brushed the tops of the mushroom caps with the vinegar - added a little olive oil to it also. I look forward to making these with eggplant, or zucchini, or whatever combinations I can come up with. Very versatile recipe! Thanks, Elise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe, but I have to admit I tweaked it a bit! I read a the reviews and decided to tone down the vinegar. I sprinkled about 2 tbsp of vinegar and a pinch of garlic and onion powder into each cap and let it soak in while I prepared the remaining ingredients. I did bake them for about 25 min, as after 12 they were barely warm. I used fresh instead of frozen spinach but I am sure the result was the same. She is right, great way to get your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Found the recipe too heavy on the vinegar. Will soften next time. Also, cooked for 25 min at 350d. Was not done/hot at the recommended 12 min time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
What a waste of some beautiful, fresh vegetables. The vinegar was so strong I could not finish eating the dish. I marinated five portobellos for 30 minutes and it still made it inedible. The topping was a good start but needed seasoning like salt or maybe some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These were great! My 12 year old daughter does not eat meat anymore so I'm always looking for vegetarian dishes for her. I made these stuffed mushrooms and served them with a green salad and a loaf of crusty Italian bread. Even my husband who always wants meat with dinner enjoyed this. I made extra and took them for lunch the next day. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States