Vegetable-Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Katy Shay
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These are pretty good. I let them cook a little longer so the ports could get super soft, and also cause the boyfriend's rice wasn't done yet. Choose the smallest eggplant you can find. Choose the deepest port caps for stuffing. Made no alterations, delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Shay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I've been making stuffed portobellos for years in a similar fashion. The recipe changes every time based on what I have on hand. Last time I used about 3/4 cup leftover cooked basmati rice, sauteed summer squash, zucchini, tomato, onion, garlic, about 1/2 cup breadcrumbs, and 1/2 cup chedder cheese. I also like to add 1 beaten egg to help it all hold together. If you don't have time to marinate, drizzle the mushroom caps (stem side up) with a little balsamic (not too much, it can be overpowering) or soy sauce and bake for about 10 mins before topping with the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Marinated for about an hour in balsamic vinegarette, otherwise prepared as directed. Delicious. Even enjoyed by my husband, who is trying to learn to eat "fungi". Very pretty. The mushroom was a little tough, I wonder if that is because of the vinegar? Could not be fork-cut, had to use a knife. Other than that, great taste and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I'd recommend cutting the marinate time by half or doing a balsamic reduction (simmering the balsamic down to a sweeter, thicker state. Balsamic and portobellos are two of my favorite things, so I was a little disheartened that this came out a tad too tangy and overpowered by the vinegar. Still very tasty and presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This recipe is so versatile in that you can switch up the ingredients to go in the "filling" to satisfy your desires! I was going for super healthy so I used one tomato, marinated artichoke hearts, roast red peppers, spring mix, and eggplant spread, all chopped and mixed. Then I used one tsp. parm cheese on each mushroom. I drizzled the mushrooms with white balsamic vinegar, S&P. Such a pretty presentation, and super healthy too. Great recipe, Elise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
These were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Oh my! These were oh-so-good! I had to use my mushroom caps quickly but had no time to go to the store so I made a couple alterations - no eggplant, so I used a mixture of chopped white mushrooms and summer squash (which actually made this very colorful!), fresh spinach, which I just barely wilted in the pan, and no fresh tomatoes on hand so I use canned diced tomatoes. Threw some oregano in there and also cut back on the mozzarella. Finally, I had no time to marinate so I just brushed the tops of the mushroom caps with the vinegar - added a little olive oil to it also. I look forward to making these with eggplant, or zucchini, or whatever combinations I can come up with. Very versatile recipe! Thanks, Elise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Delicious, healthy, and easy! I used fresh chopped onion and garlic instead of the powders. I also cut out the mozzarella cheese to cut down on the fat content. The result was hearty and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were fabulous Elise!! Some members commented on the balsamic overpowering the mushrooms so instead, I marinated them in a bottled balsamic salad dressing and it was perfect. In addition to topping the dish off with parm, I also mixed some into the filling along with garlic and onion powders. Altho I love eggplant, I chose to use zucchini for this dish. The mushrooms were so darn pretty and I really wish I had remembered to have taken a picture!! My family so enjoyed this and they all thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
The original chef made these for us tonight, and they were absolutely wonderful! I wouldn't change a thing. Delicious. Thanks, Elise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States