Vegetable-Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was really good! We skipped the eggplant but I only made 2 mushrooms since it was just DH and me. I also used lots more cheese - yum! I had too much filling so I just put it around the mushrooms in the baking pan. Our only complaint was that the mushrooms did taste like biting into vinegar - ick! So next time I will either make this as a casserole OR I will only brush the mushrooms with balsamic and EVOO before baking, as others have suggested. Tasty and a great non-meat dinner - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
These are terrific. You are only limited by your own imaginiation in which vegetables to use. Even DH (meat and potatoes man) loved these and said he can't wait to have them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I really hate to give this recipe such a bad rating, but we really didn't care for this at all. Marinating the mushrooms in balsamic for that long made the flavor overpowering and there was just too much acidity going on in the dish overall. Thanks for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this on the bbq and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These were yummy! As a vegetarian, I am always looking for delicious, healthy recipes. The only thing I will do different next time is to omit the marinade step. Like others said, the balsamic vinegar was overpowering. I think they will be delicious without it, just stuff and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Really tasty and healthy. I layered it like a casserole and brushed the mushrooms with a mixture of olive oil, balsalmic vinegar, garlic and onion powder and baked for ten minutes. Then added the sauted spinach and eggplant, layered fesh sliced tomatoes, parmesan cheese, homemade spanish rice, fire roasted green chiles and shredded pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Great Recipe ~ it heated up great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I would have given this a 5, and next time I make this, with modifications, it will be a 5. There was WAY TOO much vinegar. One bite and my husband spit it out. I would use a milder marinade, or just brush with olive oil and a touch of vinegar. You can really substitute any veggies for this. I used diced zucchini, diced the mushroom stems, artichokes and fresh spinach. Great overall idea with many possiblilities, just watch that vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This recipe adds a great page in my recipe notebook. Portobello mushrooms marinated in balsamic vinegar are great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Andere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
it WAS vinegar-y but delish still. I too didn't have the eggplant so I made it semi-tarian by subing with summer sausasage. And because plum tomatoes are out of season now, I topped each cap wit a Tbsp of tomato sauce. Be warned that, if possible, find port caps that are deep so it won't be messy trying to stuff them. Next time I'll try sauteeing the artichoke with the spinach mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States