Vegetable-Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe is a keeper! I do make small changes. I prefer using fresh ingredients so I use chopped onion and garlic instead of powder. I also use fresh spinach which maintains better color and flavor when baked all together. I saute garlic, onion and spinach together before piling it into the mushroom cap. Also, I have switched out the eggplant for zucchinni when my garden is stocked full of them. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grange, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This wasy very disappointing, the balsamic vinegar completely overpowered the mushrooms and was too strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Loved the recipe hatred the vinegar. I am a vinegar lover(to the point of drinking it straight)but it ruined this for me. next time I will substitue cooking wine or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My Husband and I really liked this recipe; however, the rest of the family didn't. This dish is excellent if you are use to trying more nontraditional recipies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe, but I have to admit I tweaked it a bit! I read a the reviews and decided to tone down the vinegar. I sprinkled about 2 tbsp of vinegar and a pinch of garlic and onion powder into each cap and let it soak in while I prepared the remaining ingredients. I did bake them for about 25 min, as after 12 they were barely warm. I used fresh instead of frozen spinach but I am sure the result was the same. She is right, great way to get your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really delicious; I definitely needed to add a fair amount of salt, but it was really good. Served it atop a bed of pasta with tomato basil marinara sauce, which really complemented it. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
What a waste of some beautiful, fresh vegetables. The vinegar was so strong I could not finish eating the dish. I marinated five portobellos for 30 minutes and it still made it inedible. The topping was a good start but needed seasoning like salt or maybe some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Found the recipe too heavy on the vinegar. Will soften next time. Also, cooked for 25 min at 350d. Was not done/hot at the recommended 12 min time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Loved this recipe :) instead of using regular balsamic, I used white balsamic with a little bit of white wine (3:1 ratio) and only marinated for 25 minutes. It gave the mushrooms enough kick, but didn't taste too vinegary. Also, instead of using spinach, I used fresh basil and added that to my vegetable saute right at the end. Cooked at 350 for 17 minutes and the mushrooms came out perfectly! Served with onion & garlic rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was really good! We skipped the eggplant but I only made 2 mushrooms since it was just DH and me. I also used lots more cheese - yum! I had too much filling so I just put it around the mushrooms in the baking pan. Our only complaint was that the mushrooms did taste like biting into vinegar - ick! So next time I will either make this as a casserole OR I will only brush the mushrooms with balsamic and EVOO before baking, as others have suggested. Tasty and a great non-meat dinner - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States