Vegetable Stuffed Cannelloni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe -- and it took me FOREVER to make it... It says "45 minutes prep time," but it took me much longer (start to finish more like 2 and a half hours). If you had 2 people working on it, one working on reducing the cream sauce and the other working on the stuffing, it would go along much faster. If you're going to invest the time in this (and it is delicious -- really), consider making a double batch and freezing some for later. It would make an excellent meal for a party because you can do most of it ahead of time... just serve it with a nice salad and some bread and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was really good! I actually made this into a lasagna, with great results. I used the vegetable filling between the pasta layers and layering the sauce over each layer. It was delicious! I left out the mushrooms, added spinach. The only reason I have given this a 4 star rating is because the sherry flavor was a tad too strong and the dish itself was just a bit too rich. When I make it again, I will cut down the sherry and maybe use 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the cream. Also, adding tomatoes or something to the sauce could cut the richness. As it was, I served this dish with a tomato vinaigrette salad which helped to cut the richness a bit. Excellent dish, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I made some changes to the recipe, but only because I was feeling "creative" that day! What I ended up with was delicious and I'm sure the recipe as originally given would have been just as good. I cannot eat bell peppers so I substituted yellow squash. I couldn't find shallots so I used small green onions. Because I used a large eggplant and then added the squash, I had filling for 14 noodles and even had some filling left over. That meant I needed more sauce to cook the dish in so, I added a can of Del Monte Italian Stewed Tomatoes (pureed) and a can of tomato sauce. I liked the flavor the cream and wine added to the tomato sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
This is very different tasting. I think next time I would wait to cook the noodles, if at all, until the last minute. By the time the vegetables and sauce were ready, the noodles were soggy and collapsed. I think I would also add less sherry as the sauce was a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
very good. easy to make. i substituted red wine for the dry sherry and it worked very well too. i also used oven ready cannelloni noodles and it saved my preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Really awesome dish I have only made it a couple times because it takes so long to prepare. But this is fancy resturant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Harrison, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Excellent recipe, especially for vegetarians. Manicotti would be easier than cannelloni to stuff. Not sure why I had so much stuffing left. But it is very tasty, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
YUM. This took a VERY LONG time to make, much longer than the stated time... but maybe Im just slow. I didnt make any changes to the recipe other than using red wine because thats all I had. My kids didnt love it, but still ate it, while me and my husband LOVED it. It was creamy and flavorful. I didnt even have to spice it up alot and normally I have to spice every recipe up TONS because we like things with a kick. Thanks so much, will make this often (for me and the hubs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was fantastic. I used spinach, onion and mushroom as my veggie filling and added fresh basil instead of dried to the ricotta. Word to the wise - make sure you don't over cook your noodles in the paraboiling stage. If they get too soft they are very hard to stuff with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This recipe is fantastic. I couldnt find cannelloni noodles, but found that manicotti noodles work just as well. Don't overboil the noodles! they only need a few minutes in a water, so save that part for last. This is my new favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States