Vegetable Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
HUGE hit with my family! Being the only person in my family who eats vegetables, I am regularly looking for sneaky ways to add more in there... This was, yet another smash hit! It has already been requested as a regular dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2A_Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This stuff is the bomb. I didn't have the Packaged corn muffin mix so I used 8 oz. of regular corn bread mix. The only other change I made was I had a little chopped onion left from another recipe and I just threw it in for good measure. I did let it cook till the entire thing was set ( it took about 45 mins)But well worth the wait. I'll be making this again and very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Superbowl Sunday. I'd been looking for recipes that I could use the pulp left over when I make green juice. This has potential. Here we go. I made the recipe, substituting my green juice pulp for the spinach. My pulp was mostly green with some carrot visable too. I ate this for breakfast with some waldorf salad and a few strips of bacon. I can’t say the the Veggie Spoon Bread really knocked my socks off, but it was good, and went well with the other items. Also, I took a cue from Ms7up and baked longer than directed the bread would set. It is likely that I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this recipe using butter instead of margarine and substituted a buttermilk corn muffin mix for a sweet one. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Really good recipe. I guess I'm under the understanding that spoon bread is just as it means. Spooning it out. I would have done so but the middle was still very liquidy and to my family's preference, not appetizing, so I kept batch in the oven for about 10 minutes longer, so that I could cut out and plate with dinner verse it looking a little sloppy. Having said that. We liked the recipe very much in the extended baking time. Even my son took a bite and said it was ok, for he's not a spinach lover but did say he couldn't taste the spinach at all. But I really liked it. It wasn't over fabulous, just really good. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this for my Easter dinner and everyone loved it. I had only compliments. I did leave it in the oven a little longer til the top was completely firm. I made no other changes. I will make it again, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This really wasn't anything that special. I'd prefer plain cornbread to this, and I do like spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Anything that makes my kid eat spinach is worth 10 stars so I wish I could give it more! I loved it too. Soooooo good. If you try it you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I have never made spoon bread before and didn't know what to expect. It is a really sweet, moist cross between a casserole and bread. We had it with ribs and corn on the cob and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
OK, if you don't like spinach, you have GOT to try this! My picky son ate it up tonight and said it tasted like "dessert"! It is so moist, even though I used just about a teaspoon of margarine, instead of the amount called for. I also used three egg whites instead of whole eggs, and light sour cream. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States