Vegetable Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was wonderful, my husband and I couldn't get enough of it!! Though I skipped the alphabet pasta and barley, I instead added potatoes. Also I used tomato sauce and tomato paste instead of the vegetable juice.. it came out great. Also added some of my own veggies. This will definately be a keeper. Thanks soo much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia Station, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
fantastic!!! the only change i made was to take out all the canned veggies and substitute with a one pound bag of frozen. it was wonderful. if you are watching carbs, simply cut out the pasta. great flavor. chuck full of veggies and a sure warm up on a cold day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This soup is incredible, a real keeper. I used frozen vegetables instead of canned. I didn't have beef broth so only used chicken broth. Will definately make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I am not a big fan of vegetable soup, usually I find it bland. I was wanting something besides chips to go with sandwiches. Not only was this soup easy, but it suprisingly tasted great!! Even my kids wanted more!! Thanks for a FIRST RATE RECIPE!!! I will definitely make again and probably won't tweak this one a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I served this wonderful soup to 31 guests over the Christmas holidays. Everyone raved! Perfect for a cold winter day. I added some fresh vegetables (carrots, zuchinni) and sauteed them with the celery and onions. I then added frozen rather than canned vegetables. I am going to try this in the slow cooker next time! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is perfect! I added some stew meat and also used frozen veggies since we prefer them. Also used the spicy v-8 juice. We will be making this often in the crockpot It freezes well also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Great recipe! I added sliced mini carrots, 1 clove minced garlic. I also used a little over a cup of Bob's Vegetable Soup mix, a dried soup containing the alpha pasta, barley, and assorted dried beans. Cook time for Vege II and Bob's were approx the same. I still added frozen green beans and a can of corn, but had to add extra V-8 to thin to soup texture. Bob's thickened more than expected. Altogether an excellent soup. Next time I'll double recipe and put some in freezer in pint freezer bags for a quick soup for one or more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This is really easy and quick. Everyone loves it. I use frozen veggies instead of canned and add some basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Sensational! I used the juice and some left over meat from my pot roast for the beef broth. I skipped the celery since my mixed vegetables had celery. I broke up little pieces of angel hair pasta instead of the alphabet pasta. I've never used canned vegetables for soup before. So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
A delicious and nutritious soup. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States