Vegetable Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Of course I had to "kick it up" a bit to make it my own. I added some fresh garlic and some tender sirloin to make it more hearty. Next time, I may kick in some thyme and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Summers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Honestly, I wasn't thrilled with this soup. It was easy to make, but I thought that it tasted too much like a canned vegetable soup when it was done. I figure if it is going to taste like canned soup when I am done, I might as well save myself the trouble and just open the can of soup. The nutritional value of the canned veg and broth probably did not add much more than the can soup would have anyway. And it would have worked out to be more expensive than canned soup. I absolutely didn't like the second day leftovers. Sorry to disappoint. I guess that is the trouble with people rating the soup on the changes they made instead of the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
The first time I made this recipe, it tasted like my Grandfather's vegetable soup...which was homey and comforting, but I was looking for a version with a bit less sodium, so I could enjoy it more often. As other reviewers have done, I used all low sodium products when available and used frozen mixed veggies versus canned. I also chopped up a carrot to round out the mirepoix (fancy name for carrots, celery and onions) and deglazed it all with red wine before adding the rest of the ingredients to the mix (giving it a bit more depth). I also added potatoes as well as using the pasta and barley. Thank you Paula for sharing your recipe; it has great flexiblity while maintaining a wonderful finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is so easy and delicious! This will be my 3rd time making it. I don't add celery, beef broth or tomatoes. I also replace the barley with rice. It's sooooo good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This soup is great! Im vegetarian so I used vegetable broth instead of the chicken/beef, but my non-vegetarian boyfriend couldn't tell the difference! It tastes even BETTER the next day so left-overs are ideal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmd03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very good! I added some dried basil, oregano, and parsley and used potato instead of barley and pasta. I also used mostly fresh veggies. it was delish! this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is so versatile! I took advice from other reviewers and used the Hot and Spicy V8 juice. I also added garlic, potatoes, and used frozen veggies instead of canned. I didn't measure anything but the broths so my soup came out super chunky, even though I didn't use barley. I went a little crazy buying low sodium ingredients so I made up for it with seasonings like crushed red pepper. That mixed with the spiciness of the V8 will make this even better for cold weather meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I like to cook the alphabets off in a different pot then add them to the bowl with the soup that way they dont get all spongy and stay al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is my favorite vegetable soup. I also add 2 gloves of garlic, 2 tablespoons of old bay seasoning and 1 lb of crab meat. I didn't have barley this time so I doubled the pasta. These few tweaks make it taste more like Maryland Crab soup. Today is the perfect day for this soup cause its rainy and gloomy here in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is the first time I've made vegetable soup without meat, and it turned out surprisingly well. I was concerned that this would be bland, but the V-8 juice really kicked up the flavor. I had a few small red-skinned potatoes, so I threw them in along with about a teaspoon of beef base and a good shake of garlic powder. I typically like frozen vegetables better than canned, so next time, I'll use frozen mixed vegetables. And there WILL be a next time...good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States