Vegetable Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Yummm... My favorite part about this soup is it's flexability; you can add and take away according to your preferences or what's in the cupboard. I triple the fresh veggies and omit the frozen/canned ones. All five of my kids love it (with crackers and a little shredded cheddar) - and that's hard to pull off. Not to mention that the leftovers are divine, so make sure that you make some for tomorrow's lunch as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is rather "tomatoey" but still very good. Needs some work in the spice department though. It was kinda bland, even though I used spicy V-8. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This soup is great, but I made a few changes. I omitted the barley and doubled the pasta and used frozen mixed veggies in place of the canned ones. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Great recipe! I added sliced mini carrots, 1 clove minced garlic. I also used a little over a cup of Bob's Vegetable Soup mix, a dried soup containing the alpha pasta, barley, and assorted dried beans. Cook time for Vege II and Bob's were approx the same. I still added frozen green beans and a can of corn, but had to add extra V-8 to thin to soup texture. Bob's thickened more than expected. Altogether an excellent soup. Next time I'll double recipe and put some in freezer in pint freezer bags for a quick soup for one or more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This soup is incredible, a real keeper. I used frozen vegetables instead of canned. I didn't have beef broth so only used chicken broth. Will definately make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I've made this recipe several times and I love it more each time I make it. The vegetables can be amended to whatever you have on hand. The broth is fantastic. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This is wonderful! I substituted the canned veggies w/ frozen ones, and added another can of chicken broth. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
An excellent and easy recipe. My only change was to use frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned, which I just don't care for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This is really easy and quick. Everyone loves it. I use frozen veggies instead of canned and add some basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Wonderful! I substituted potato for the barley and pasta, and added chopped up carrots. For the canned mixed veggies, I added one can of green beans. I also just threw in some chopped fresh basil I had around. This is a great, basic, if tomato-y vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States