Vegetable Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is the first time I've made vegetable soup without meat, and it turned out surprisingly well. I was concerned that this would be bland, but the V-8 juice really kicked up the flavor. I had a few small red-skinned potatoes, so I threw them in along with about a teaspoon of beef base and a good shake of garlic powder. I typically like frozen vegetables better than canned, so next time, I'll use frozen mixed vegetables. And there WILL be a next time...good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This soup is very tasty! The first time I made it, it was a bit salty, so then I opted for low-sodium ingredients when possible and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is perfect! I added some stew meat and also used frozen veggies since we prefer them. Also used the spicy v-8 juice. We will be making this often in the crockpot It freezes well also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
great with additions. see notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
We love this soup in our house - I have probably made it 15 times! I add minced garlic and some Worchestershire Sauce but other than that, I follow the recipe and it is delicious. I make a pot of it on Sunday and eat it all week for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Santa Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I added 2C water to make it a little more brothy. I also eliminated the pasta/barley and used 2 1lb bags of frozen mixed vegetables. Added a bit or basil and oregano, just on a whim. Tasted great with some delicious crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I've made this 4 times now. This is the best Vegetable Soup ever. I make fresh bread each time I make the Soup. I use 4 cans on chicken stock is my only change to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This soup is way better than any vegetable soup I've had. It didn't blow me away but it was incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I liked this a lot. Super simple. A good way to eat healthy and clean out your pantry. I played with the recipe as did others, putting in what I liked and had. Topped it off with fresh grated parm and am eating it as I write this. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
True to everyone else who reviewed this, I made a few changes. I used spicy v-8 (soup was not spicy at all, even with the addition), 3 cups of precooked barley, a little more pasta--not much, a bag of frozen country vegetables, frozen peas, fresh steamed carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower, and a package of frozen spinach. It is much thicker than regular vegetable soup and absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States