Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I grew up on homemade vegetable soup and frankly have avoided it my whole life because I was burned out on it. Even the smell would turn my stomach. However, I'm trying to eat better and wanted to make this as a treat for my DH who loves vegetable soup. I was very surprised to find that this was nothing like my mother's soup (which is a good thing) and I really enjoyed it. I think I added just enough pepper to give it a kick. I halved the recipe and used half chicken broth because I had some to use up. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
A decent, easy to make veggie soup. I adjust the veggies a bit depending on what we're in the mood for, and it's very tomato-y, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very easy & good! It just need a little more spice. So, I did add 2 pinches of marjoram and garlic both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I took EHERING's suggestion on the spices. Also, I excluded the tomato sauce and carrots (just because I didn't have any), and it was STILL really amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Loretto, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
changed a few things only because I didnt have other ingredients: substituted beef broth for chicken and a half a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes in oregano and basil seasoning. i then added zucchini, 1 can of white kidney beans, half a box of whole wheat rotini and omitted the extra spice. I also added garlic salt rather than regular salt. Really good! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was fantastic!! My son loved it too. Easy to make, and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was a huge hit with my boyfriend and his family. I did not deviate from the recipe one bit and it was thoroughly enjoyed! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was delicious! I am not a veggie fan but I loved this soup. I made it as the recipes calls however I did add some Zucchini, and Worcestershire sauce. We had a group coming over to our house and so the soup ended up simmering for about 4 hours by accident. I didn’t mind though because the consistency was perfect! The liquid had a hearty thickness to it. My husband, being the carnivore that he is, was surprised that I wasn’t putting any meat in it; however, I thought that the beef broth added plenty of flavor, next time we will try adding some beef. Following other recommendations I added marjoram, parsly, oregano, thyme, and basil. My husband did sneak in a cup or so of brown rice when I wasn’t looking, which made it more substantial for a hearty dinner. I love how healthy this recipe is, how it is simple but has amazing flavor. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was totally awesome! I didn't change anything on the recipe but I added a few things, I added some corn, just cuz i had some lying around the freezer that needed to be used up, and i added some marjorum, italian seasoning, worstershire, and Kitchen Bouquet Browning and Seasoning Sauce. Delish....will definately keep this and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybean1046

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I agree with others that it was missing something. I gave it another try and doctored it up some. This time it turned out fabulous! I left out the potatoes and salt. (beef broth is salty enough!) I added 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes, 4 tbs of worchestershire sauce, 4 fresh tomatoes, basil, one clove garlic, a handful of lentils and then i cooked elbow noodles and added them to the soup bowl before serving. I know I changed a lot, but this was the only way my family would eat it! AND THEY LOVED IT!! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States