Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I grew up on homemade vegetable soup and frankly have avoided it my whole life because I was burned out on it. Even the smell would turn my stomach. However, I'm trying to eat better and wanted to make this as a treat for my DH who loves vegetable soup. I was very surprised to find that this was nothing like my mother's soup (which is a good thing) and I really enjoyed it. I think I added just enough pepper to give it a kick. I halved the recipe and used half chicken broth because I had some to use up. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
A decent, easy to make veggie soup. I adjust the veggies a bit depending on what we're in the mood for, and it's very tomato-y, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very easy & good! It just need a little more spice. So, I did add 2 pinches of marjoram and garlic both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I took EHERING's suggestion on the spices. Also, I excluded the tomato sauce and carrots (just because I didn't have any), and it was STILL really amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Loretto, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
changed a few things only because I didnt have other ingredients: substituted beef broth for chicken and a half a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes in oregano and basil seasoning. i then added zucchini, 1 can of white kidney beans, half a box of whole wheat rotini and omitted the extra spice. I also added garlic salt rather than regular salt. Really good! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was fantastic!! My son loved it too. Easy to make, and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was a huge hit with my boyfriend and his family. I did not deviate from the recipe one bit and it was thoroughly enjoyed! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was delicious! I am not a veggie fan but I loved this soup. I made it as the recipes calls however I did add some Zucchini, and Worcestershire sauce. We had a group coming over to our house and so the soup ended up simmering for about 4 hours by accident. I didn’t mind though because the consistency was perfect! The liquid had a hearty thickness to it. My husband, being the carnivore that he is, was surprised that I wasn’t putting any meat in it; however, I thought that the beef broth added plenty of flavor, next time we will try adding some beef. Following other recommendations I added marjoram, parsly, oregano, thyme, and basil. My husband did sneak in a cup or so of brown rice when I wasn’t looking, which made it more substantial for a hearty dinner. I love how healthy this recipe is, how it is simple but has amazing flavor. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was totally awesome! I didn't change anything on the recipe but I added a few things, I added some corn, just cuz i had some lying around the freezer that needed to be used up, and i added some marjorum, italian seasoning, worstershire, and Kitchen Bouquet Browning and Seasoning Sauce. Delish....will definately keep this and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybean1046

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I agree with others that it was missing something. I gave it another try and doctored it up some. This time it turned out fabulous! I left out the potatoes and salt. (beef broth is salty enough!) I added 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes, 4 tbs of worchestershire sauce, 4 fresh tomatoes, basil, one clove garlic, a handful of lentils and then i cooked elbow noodles and added them to the soup bowl before serving. I know I changed a lot, but this was the only way my family would eat it! AND THEY LOVED IT!! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States