Vegetable Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. I made a few slight modifications for my own personal taste but this one is awesome. Being vegetarian, I appreciate these recipes all the more! My husband raved about it as well! My revisions: - used only tomato sauce not diced tomatoes. - no carrots, only frozen mixed vegetables - no soy sauce or sugar was used - I halved the recipe because I made it for only my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I thought that was very good. Used fresh veggies instead of frozen: 2 carrots, 2 celery branches, 1 red pepper, 5 very big mushrooms and 1 can of corn. Sauteed onion with 3 big garlic cloves then added the carrots and finely, the rest of the veggies. Followed the rest except added ½ teaspoon of Italian seasoning to the mix. Melted butter (2 ½ tbsp), pasley and 1 clove of garlic on stove for ~1-2 min on low heat to add to the mashed potatoes: mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Delicious AND nutritious! I used instant potatoes on top to cut down prep time and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I can't eat kidney beans, so, I substituted pinto beans. 8 large potatoes was way more than I needed. The second time I make it with 5 and still had a little left. It seems a little dry to me, so, I served it with a vegatarian brown gravy. My husband loves this recipe! I can't believe the nutrition info is correct though, everything seems too high, maybe for the whole recipe, but, not per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was an excellent, flavorful vegetarian meal! I have struggled to find good, tasty meals for my vegetarian husband, but he absolutely loved this! As was mentioned before, 8 potatoes was too many--I ended up having leftovers that I didn't use on the casserole (5 is probably a good amount). Also, someone else had mentioned it was bland, so I bought flavored tomotoes and tomato sauce (with garlic, oregano and basil), which I think helped add some flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Great flavor. Went wonderfully with whole wheat biscuits. My very-carnivorous boyfriend devoured it and happily ate leftovers for another four meals. I used five large red potatoes, and that was the perfect amount. Wonderful flavor with the garlic, parsley, and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
My daughter and I are "newly" vegetarian and this is one of the dishes we decided to try. Fantastic! It was tasty, filling, the potato topping out of this world. I served it with salad and cornbread. We both enjoyed this meal and will definitely enter into our permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This dish was fantastic! My sister and I are both vegetarians and we loved it. I don't like left-overs, but I couldn't stop eating this. It has a good balance of everything in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I thought this was the nicest Shepherdless pie I have cooked .... I made a few alterations..... I left out the carrots and added mushrooms instead, and I just added a small amount of milk to the potatoes and did not use the cheese - tried to keep it low fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great recipe!! I changed just a few things. I didn't use the additional carrots, and I made "my own" mashed potatoes instead of following this recipe's ingredients. I scaled this down for 2 servings; with that said, I used one finely-chopped tomato and 1.5 tbsp ketchup (which also replaced the sugar in the recipe) instead of the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. Also, because I had no onions but had a shallot, I used that instead. So, with those changes, this recipe was verrrrry good! I was surprised at how filling it was. I would recommend this recipe to others! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States