Vegetable Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a good recipe. When I first looked at this recipe, I was a little affraid of how would come out, but the combination of flavors is pretty good. I used real garlic on the mashed potatoes instead of powder and since I only had 1 carrot at home, I also added 1 small zuchini, I guess you can just be creative and add different veggetables for a change. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was a good basic recipe, but I think there should be a little more flavoring to the vegetables. Maybe some salt and pepper, maybe a little paprika? I mashed 4 medium-sized potatoes, and it was just enough for the top. Next time I'd make 5 potatoes' worth, just for a little extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I hate to be in the minority here, but I thought this was a lot of work for something that was really mediocre. After we ate it the first night my husband stared at it repeating, "there's so much left." If he liked it, that wouldn't be a problem. It got eaten, but won't be repeated. Having been vegetarian for 11 years, I've eaten a lot of good recipes, and just don't feel this was one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Really good! I used instant mashed potatoes, I didn't have an onion so I used some onion powder. Instead of cheddar cheese I sprinkled a little parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jL
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
There is a lot of prep work involved, but this is nice "comfort food" to have on a cold winter day. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This was reaaly good. I thought the potatoes were really bland so I doubled the spices. Other than that I followed the recipes exactly and it turned out great. I divided it into two casserole dishes and added a layer of ground beef for the non veggie boy friend. He loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Super good! I omitted the tomoato sauce because I didnt have any and just added a little of the juice from the diced tomoatoes instead. My husband and dad (neither veggie fans) had 3 helpings and LOVED it! It make great leftovers. To make it more nutrious I used all raw organic vegtables, broccoli, green beans, corn, peas, carrots, and steamed those instead of frozen. And I used organic red potatoes with the skin on. Wow. Cant wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I'd give this a 3 1/2 stars if I could. It was pretty good, but nothing special. I liked the potatoes a lot. I added some mushrooms to the veggies. I don't know if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I thought that was very good. Used fresh veggies instead of frozen: 2 carrots, 2 celery branches, 1 red pepper, 5 very big mushrooms and 1 can of corn. Sauteed onion with 3 big garlic cloves then added the carrots and finely, the rest of the veggies. Followed the rest except added ½ teaspoon of Italian seasoning to the mix. Melted butter (2 ½ tbsp), pasley and 1 clove of garlic on stove for ~1-2 min on low heat to add to the mashed potatoes: mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Really, really good! For frozen veggies I used peas, corn and green beans. I also added mushrooms as suggested by an earlier reviewer and I thought that they tasted wonderful! Instead of garlic powder I used about 5 cloves of fresh minced garlic, and I only used half of the butter that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States