Vegetable Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was the second time we have made this recipe. The only thing we change is using whatever fresh vegetables we have instead of frozen ones. This time it was 8 ounces wild mushrooms, 3 celery stalks, 1 extra carrot, 1/2 green bell pepper, 1 extra onion. Because of the extra vegetables we baked ours in a 9x16 and had plenty of potatoes for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is the third veggie sheperd's pie I've cooked and I have to say, my least favorite. The recipe calls for so much tomato that it is overpowering. The entire dish turned out to taste like soggy mashed potatoes with tomato sauce. Yuck! Maybe with some more pep and less saucy tomatoes it could be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Incredibly delicious and hearty! I put in a ton more vegetables and a bit more tomato, but it was still balanced nicely by the mashed potatoes. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickleGazebo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was excellent! I made it exactly as written. We thought it tasted liked a baked vegetable soup topped with mashed potatoes and cheese. I will definately be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Everyone really enjoyed this dish, even the non vegetarians! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I skip a few steps here or there but I always comes out great. I don't put in the beans cause I have diabetes and don't need the extra carbs. Sometimes I don't have time to cook everything separately so I just through it all together and top it off with the mashed potatoes. Otherwise we love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recpie is delicious. It is great for left overs. We froze half of it for a future dinner and still have some to take for lunch! This is one we will be making again. Might become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by henrythe8thiam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Ridgeland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
very good the first time, but doesn't reheat as well as i thought. still good. used about 8 red potatoes added extra cheese-colby jack and hot haberno used two smaller packages of frozen vegetables and cut back on the carrots but added red and green bell pepper doubled the spices very very good the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
i followed the advice of other reviewers and only used 8 potatoes, which was the perfect amount. i also used all fresh veggies (except for the canned kidney beans, of course!) and omitted the sugar. i made it for easter dinner with the whole family and everyone loved it - even my brother who usually disparages my vegetarian offerings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is one of my family's favorite recipes!! It is a perfect accompaniment to a cold wintery night. I've made a few alterations to accommodate for a couple of food allergies such as: - substitute canola oil for butter and rice milk for milk, also remove soy sauce and cheese. Consequently, this has made it a great vegan recipe! I've also added black beans and sometimes cannelli beans. unpeeled red potatoes are also a great substitute. Overall fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States