Vegetable Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I thought that was very good. Used fresh veggies instead of frozen: 2 carrots, 2 celery branches, 1 red pepper, 5 very big mushrooms and 1 can of corn. Sauteed onion with 3 big garlic cloves then added the carrots and finely, the rest of the veggies. Followed the rest except added ½ teaspoon of Italian seasoning to the mix. Melted butter (2 ½ tbsp), pasley and 1 clove of garlic on stove for ~1-2 min on low heat to add to the mashed potatoes: mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Really, really good! For frozen veggies I used peas, corn and green beans. I also added mushrooms as suggested by an earlier reviewer and I thought that they tasted wonderful! Instead of garlic powder I used about 5 cloves of fresh minced garlic, and I only used half of the butter that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My daughter and I really liked this. It's made simple by using instant garlic flavored mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was an excellent, flavorful vegetarian meal! I have struggled to find good, tasty meals for my vegetarian husband, but he absolutely loved this! As was mentioned before, 8 potatoes was too many--I ended up having leftovers that I didn't use on the casserole (5 is probably a good amount). Also, someone else had mentioned it was bland, so I bought flavored tomotoes and tomato sauce (with garlic, oregano and basil), which I think helped add some flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This recipe is delicious. I don't peel the potatoes, saves time and turns out great. Also, I found the oven time to be excessive. It turns out crispy. 20-25 min, just to melt the cheese is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtimion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
My daughter and I are "newly" vegetarian and this is one of the dishes we decided to try. Fantastic! It was tasty, filling, the potato topping out of this world. I served it with salad and cornbread. We both enjoyed this meal and will definitely enter into our permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I use flavored instant mashed potatoes to cut down on prep time. My 3 year old and I like it, but my husband is on the fence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHASESMAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Even after trying to spice it up according to taste, I found this dish to be very bland... Those of you who enjoyed this recipe, what type of tomato sauce and frozen veggies did you use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Great flavor. I used instant mashed potatoes like others suggested (4 servings)and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covelo, California, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This was pretty easy and good. Instead of peeling, boiling, mashing the potatoes, I just used a single packet of Instant preflavored potatoes to save time. I also added 1/4 bit of cooked beef I had all ready to go the freezer. It added a little more substinance. We are not vegetarians, however. It's a regular in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States