Vegetable Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was tasty, I added shelled edammame to the vegetable mixture. It came out a little soupier than I would have liked so the next time I make it I may omit the can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I thought this was horrible. Bland and overall lacking something. It was barely edible for me. But my fiance liked it, which is why it gets 3 stars instead of 1. Maybe if you bump up the spices it'll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Goodness, this is delicious! I didn't follow the recipe exactly; I made the following changes: Mashed potatoes with 1/4 red onion, 1 large clove garlic, 1 T butter, 1 T oregano, 1/2 t. basil; 1 fresh zucchini, 3/4 red onion, 2 carrots, 1 c frozen edamame, 1/4 c peas, 1/2 can of corn, 1/2 can of green beans, 8 oz tomato sauce, 1 can of kidney beans. Definitely don't leave out the cheddar cheese on top. This was REALLY delicious; I can't stress that enough!! I baked this concoction at 375 for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a good recipe. When I first looked at this recipe, I was a little affraid of how would come out, but the combination of flavors is pretty good. I used real garlic on the mashed potatoes instead of powder and since I only had 1 carrot at home, I also added 1 small zuchini, I guess you can just be creative and add different veggetables for a change. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was a good basic recipe, but I think there should be a little more flavoring to the vegetables. Maybe some salt and pepper, maybe a little paprika? I mashed 4 medium-sized potatoes, and it was just enough for the top. Next time I'd make 5 potatoes' worth, just for a little extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I hate to be in the minority here, but I thought this was a lot of work for something that was really mediocre. After we ate it the first night my husband stared at it repeating, "there's so much left." If he liked it, that wouldn't be a problem. It got eaten, but won't be repeated. Having been vegetarian for 11 years, I've eaten a lot of good recipes, and just don't feel this was one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Really good! I used instant mashed potatoes, I didn't have an onion so I used some onion powder. Instead of cheddar cheese I sprinkled a little parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jL
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
There is a lot of prep work involved, but this is nice "comfort food" to have on a cold winter day. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This was reaaly good. I thought the potatoes were really bland so I doubled the spices. Other than that I followed the recipes exactly and it turned out great. I divided it into two casserole dishes and added a layer of ground beef for the non veggie boy friend. He loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Super good! I omitted the tomoato sauce because I didnt have any and just added a little of the juice from the diced tomoatoes instead. My husband and dad (neither veggie fans) had 3 helpings and LOVED it! It make great leftovers. To make it more nutrious I used all raw organic vegtables, broccoli, green beans, corn, peas, carrots, and steamed those instead of frozen. And I used organic red potatoes with the skin on. Wow. Cant wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States