Vegetable Quiche Cups to Go Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I've made this recipe twice, the second time doubling it, but using only 10oz spinach. I used Parmesan Reggiano for the cheese (3/4 cup for the doubled recipe) and for the vegies, sauteed some onions, red peppers. Also added some chopped fresh flat leaf parsley and chopped fresh basil. They came out like little frittatas - the recipe made 16, so I cooled them, wrapped them individually, put them all in a large zip bag and froze them. If yours are soggy when you reheat them out of the freezer, you may not be drying out the spinach well enought. It has to be super dry before you add it to the mixture - drain it really, really well. I squeeze it out in a clean tea towel. My son and husband love these, and we all have a couple for breakfast on weekdays when there isn't time to cook. A little salt (the parmesan tends to be salty) and fresh ground black pepper really adds a lot of flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Five stars if you modify and than these are awesome! I'm starting Southbeach tomorrow and made them today and if they're this good when you haven't started dieting, they must be good. Here's my version to make larger, double size so you only have one and they really are filling: Spray tins, don't use liners. 10 oz. spinach (squeeze, squeeze, squeeze the moisture out); 2 cups liquid egg; 1-1/2 cup cheese, 1 bag onion/pepper stir fry (frozen, it's about 2 cups) - sauteed with 4 tsps. minced garlic and then chopped; 6 drops of hot sauce. I mixed it all up and seasoned with about 1-2 tsp. seasoning salt. Filled 12 regular size muffin tins (full). Sprinkled each with a bit of pepper and topped with diced tomato pieces. I also added a couple Tbsp. of Real Bacon bits, but it really wasn't necessary. Baked at 325 for about 40 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
These are great as the recipe is written, but I have made them a dozen different ways. One of my favorite combos is to use red bell pepper instead of green, adding baby spinach and finely chopped canadian bacon. I freeze them in foil muffin cups, peel the muffin cup off the quiche, and pop in the microwave; almost as easy as grabbing a donut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These Quiche cups are gross. Most of the people giving this recipe high ratings are all saying the same thing - it's great if you change it. So the vegetable quiche cups to go are not great...some other recipe is great. I'm going to try some of the variations suggested here. I hope they are better than mushy spinach cups to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
My husband and I love these (and neither of us care for spinach). I doubled the recipe except for the spinach and there was still plenty of spinach in the cups and they held togehter perfectly. I replaced the extra 3/4 c. cheddar with low fat cottage cheese. For the peppers and onions, I put half of a bag of pepper stirfry in my food processor to mince. I also added 1 tsp. dry mustard and extra hot sauce. This made 20 perfect cups that have only lasted 2 days between my husband and I. We eat them for breakfast and snacks because they're so healthy. They're great on their own but also good with fresh tomato salsa. I made some with paper liners and some without and I liked them better with out because the sides browned better (worked even better in my dark pan over my light one). Next time I'm gonna try adding turkey bacon to them and would also like to try it with brocolli. Wonderful recipe that I will continue to use after SBD Phase 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I altered my favorite quiche recipe to be south beach friendly. It involves using another combination of "appropriate" veggies. For the green, using chopped poblano peppers rather than spinach. You avoid the soggy factor and get much more flavor. I saute the onion, some minced garlic and cumin seeds in olive oil, add the poblano and saute until soft. Add diced tomatoes and saute. (I like drained Italian canned, but you could use fresh.) In a mixing bowl,combine liquid egg substitute and cheese. Add vegetable mixture to the bowl and mix. Add to the muffin tin, and voolah. 20 min at 350 was great in my oven, and I definitely recommmend doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I give 5 stars to my update on this recipe... it needs something extra! I was on South Beach for a while, and even though I don't need it anymore, I still make these every week for breakfast for myself! I double it so it will last for a couple of weeks. 2 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach 5 eggs (or 6 if you like it really “eggy”) 1 ½ cup shredded cheese (or more if you want it more cheesy) ½ cup diced green or red bell pepper (red makes it sweeter) ½ cup diced onion (optional) any other veggies you want diced up: water chestnuts, zucchini, broccoli, etc… 8-10 drops hot-pepper sauce (it doesn’t make it spicy, trust me, so add more if you want it spicy) ½ to 1 pound of breakfast sausage (optional), patties or links with casings removed, crumbled, cooked, and drained Salt and pepper (don’t be afraid of it, there’s a lot of eggs and veggies to season, use your best judgement) My take on this makes between 24 and 28 cups, depending on how full you fill the muffin tin. And I don't use muffin cups, just spray with no-stick spray! They're wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainbowmkgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
These were great! I made them with 3 whole eggs, light mozzarela cheese and broccoli. Will definitely make again and will try various recipes. Only note is I did have to cook them 5 minutes longer than the directions indicated... though I like my eggs dry dry dry! :-) THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Love this! Perfect for the South Beach dieter who doesn't like eggs and loves spinach. For me, breakfast was the hardest part of going with South Beach - I was a lifelong cereal eater. This really got me started. Have also used chopped broccoli with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Try adding frozen chopped broccoli -- it's delicious and hardly adds any calories. If you make a large quantity and freeze them, defrost them in the microwave, then put them in the toaster oven for a few minutes so they're not so soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States