Vegetable Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I was particularly looking for a chicken vegie pasty recipe. So I just added 1/2 kilo of diced breast chicken, swapped the vegie cube for a chicken cube and got thumbs up all round. Thanx for a great 'fast food'at home dina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This rating is based on the pastry only as I did my own thing for the filling. It turned out lovely, I followed it exactly, tender and a deep golden colour, amount was bang on 8 huge ones. Hubby and 2 adult sons were very impressed ( I can see fights for the leftover ones!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I thought this was great, but I have to admit that I used frozen Puff Pastry - I've NEVER been successful with pastry-making, too heavy handed perhaps. I can think of so many fillings based on this basic one - it's a versatile dish, very easy and quick. Cooked, they freeze well, too. Leah from Qld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I am rating this as five stars because the filling is amazing! I know the dough traditionally is supposed to be heavy. I didn't care for the dough though so I remade with biscut dough and a rolling pin. We liked that much better. Thank you for the great recipe we will use our modified version over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I can't get turnips where I am, so I just made them without. This was my first attempt at anything like a pastie, and they were SO GOOD. My children scarfed them down. I have saved the recipe to make again in the future. Just be forewarned that these make really big pasties and are super filling. Unless you have a super-big eater in your family, recalculate the recipe to plan for one for everyone. I made these for 3 of us and we ate them for 3 meals. Not that anyone complained. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup in place of the olive oil, water and mushrooms. This was per my Grandma's recommendation. (just straight out of the can, I did not "prepare" the soup at all....) I used my grandma's pie crust recipe for the pastry, and they turned out great! Not too bad for my first ever pie crust or pastie experiment.... There is still about half of the filling mixture left over, so I think tommorrow I will try and make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
5 Stars for the filling. 2 Stars for the pastry. I tried this twice. The first time I used the pastry recipe here, and it was too hard. Though that may have been me overworking the dough. The second time I bought the refrigerated pie dough at the store (they didn't have puff pastry), they turned out amazing! The filling is awesome! I also made a mushroom gravy with vegetable stock to go with it, since we are vegan. It was excellent. Even my carnivore brother loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowcook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I added a pinch of baking soda while making the dough. The crust was pretty good, not too dry. I didn't have bouillon, so I added half a tablespoon coriander powder and quarter tablespoons of turmeric and black pepper. I would likely double these if/when I use this recipe again. This is to taste of course. I used a cup of water instead of the 2 tablespoons. Overall a wonderful base recipe. Thanks, Alexandra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Based on all the reviews, I opted to buy the pre made pie crust instead of making from scratch. And I wasn't disappointed! Crust and filling turned out great! Everyone loved this. I also switched up the veggies. I sautéed onions and garlic, then added red orange and yellow bell peppers, carrots, and zucchini. Then when those were almost done, I added shredded chicken and broccoli. Took off heat after only a minute and mixed in one can of cream of mushroom soup. Cut up pre made pie crusts into smaller empenada sized pieces, then filled with mixture. Good thing about these are that you can really fill them with anything! Will def make this again, and try different filling ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States