Vegetable Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I was disappointed that after all that work it was extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I added a pinch of baking soda while making the dough. The crust was pretty good, not too dry. I didn't have bouillon, so I added half a tablespoon coriander powder and quarter tablespoons of turmeric and black pepper. I would likely double these if/when I use this recipe again. This is to taste of course. I used a cup of water instead of the 2 tablespoons. Overall a wonderful base recipe. Thanks, Alexandra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I can't get turnips where I am, so I just made them without. This was my first attempt at anything like a pastie, and they were SO GOOD. My children scarfed them down. I have saved the recipe to make again in the future. Just be forewarned that these make really big pasties and are super filling. Unless you have a super-big eater in your family, recalculate the recipe to plan for one for everyone. I made these for 3 of us and we ate them for 3 meals. Not that anyone complained. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup in place of the olive oil, water and mushrooms. This was per my Grandma's recommendation. (just straight out of the can, I did not "prepare" the soup at all....) I used my grandma's pie crust recipe for the pastry, and they turned out great! Not too bad for my first ever pie crust or pastie experiment.... There is still about half of the filling mixture left over, so I think tommorrow I will try and make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
5 Stars for the filling. 2 Stars for the pastry. I tried this twice. The first time I used the pastry recipe here, and it was too hard. Though that may have been me overworking the dough. The second time I bought the refrigerated pie dough at the store (they didn't have puff pastry), they turned out amazing! The filling is awesome! I also made a mushroom gravy with vegetable stock to go with it, since we are vegan. It was excellent. Even my carnivore brother loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowcook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Our family is vegetarian and were very excited about these. The consensus is that it's pretty good, extremely filling, however the filling is dry. A few of the reviews had already mentioned the dry quality of the filling and so I had upped the water from 2 tbsp to 1 1/2 cups, also adding an extra bullion cube so as not to lose flavor. Alas, those pesky potatoes just wouldn't allow it. Next time, I think I'll try adding a dollop or two of prepared veggie gravy inside before sealing them up. As for the crust, it smelled just heavenly while baking! My son says he doesn't like the "crunchies" in it, but I say the wheat is good for him and my husband I both liked it that way. This is a keeper, with a slight tweak in the filling department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I am rating this as five stars because the filling is amazing! I know the dough traditionally is supposed to be heavy. I didn't care for the dough though so I remade with biscut dough and a rolling pin. We liked that much better. Thank you for the great recipe we will use our modified version over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Review just for filling-- I used a yeasted dough as the crust, which was delicious. The filling is amazing, and this made exactly the right amount for 8 pasties. Could have used a little more salt in the filling--I will probably add an extra half a teaspoon of bouillon next time. (I had powdered bouillon instead of cube, because it's cheaper, tastes the same, and it easier to use.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I added all the vegetables I had and they turned out great. On the Pastie I just added a little extra water until I felt like it was the right texture. Also it is a good idea to put the dough in the fridge until the vegetables are done. This allows the sticky-ness of the dough to not be as strong so they are easier to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Made these as written, but added half a can of mushroom soup to the filling. Next time I would leave out the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States