Vegetable Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I too, adapted this recipe to my taste. I used whatever vegetables I had left over or in the house. I even threw in some frozen peas and corn. I used 3 gloves a garlic and a large onion. I used more spices than the recipe called for. More salt, pepper, basil. I used colby, jack and cheedar cheeses because that is what I had on hand. My family loved it! No one noticed it was a meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I added this recipe to my box a while back because I thought it sounded good.. Just today my mom made lunch and it was something very very similar to this, She said she just made it up but since it's so similar I wanted to rate this recipe and say that is came out really really yummy and you should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This is a horribly bland tasteless recipe. I ended up throwing the entire thing out. I don't know what could be changed to give it some taste except perhaps, a whole other recipe. Terrible. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this recipe with 3 cups soymilk, fresh mushrooms, alot more seasoning and omitted the basil. I also used spinach instead of Broccoli and used carrots in place bell pepper. I sauted all the vegetables, then made sauce and added it to fusilli pasta. For the topping I mixed a quarter cup parmesan in with cracker crumbs. It was delicious A great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Don't be put off by the unkind and inaccurate review above. It's not haute cuisine, but a wholesome family dish, and easily adaptable to your preferences, or to what you have available. I usually use Cheddar cheese, and put the dish under a hot overhead grill for a few minutes instead of into the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I disregarded the first review and tried this. It was great. Like other I made several modifications. Added more garlic and other spices that we like. Also, i used the veggies i had on hand (fresh zuchini, carrots and sweet pepers). I'm not a big fan of boiling my veggies so i sauteed them while i was cooking the pasta. A quick mix of everything together and it was a lovely, quick and tasty dish. Very colorful as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I used this recipe as a base. I used egg noodles instead of penne pasta. I cooked for four people, so I did just half of a pack of noodles and all ingredients. So my ingredients were: 1 cup of broccoli, half of yellow bell pepper, 1 cup of yellow squash, half an onion, 1/2 cup of celery, 5 gloves of garlic, butter, oil, 1/8 cup of flour, 2 cups of milk, parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, spices, fresh chopped basil, bread crumbs, canoly cooking spray. I cooked noodles according to directions, set aside. Sauteed all veggies on olive oil mixed with butter, add flour and milk, salt, pepper, spices and parmesan cheese. mixed veggies with noodles, add basil. put everything in casserole dish, sprinkled with bread crumbs and parmesan cheese and put in preheated oven for 30 minutes. It was so good! My kids, 6 and 8, loved it! Very good recipe, just needs to be changed acording to your taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I cooked it as per the directions except for adding the suggested extra spices and cheese, and it was still bland. Also, the pasta had no texture left in it. I guess I'll go back to the old recipe with creame of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Sort of bland, but made it better by adding 3x the broccoli called for and by adding some canned turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is a good recipe, but very bland. My kids loved it, but I had to add some hot sauce. I might try it with a more flavorful cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States