Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I actually made this as a main dish for my daughter. I added in some basil and oregano and only used the juice of half a very large lemon. I also sprinkled some parm over it just before serving. My daughter liked this and said she would definitely eat it again but did say she would like a little less lemon juice next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This recipe has it all. Great taste, low fat, easy to prepare, ingredients most cooks would have on hand, and colorful in appearance. You could easily substitute other vegetables. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
We thought this was very good. Added some needed seasonings and sprinkled with a bit of parm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
The cooking of the veggies took away their fresh flavor. I believe this would have tasted best wiith raw veggies with the vinegar, olive oil, lemon juice and seasonings used as a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Excellent! My family loved it. I added a pinch of sugar to mild the taste a bit. It was also good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
8/15/07 *original review*Wow, so good! I didn't have any orzo, so I substituted acini de pepe which I had left over from making italian wedding soup. Everything blends together so well; this is a refreshing side dish. Thanks AMULHERN. *EDIT* I made this again using orzo, and also added a bit more garlic. I love this dish, and found the leftovers are just delightful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Yummy! I didn't have any balsamic vinegar so I added a a balsamic vinegarette dressing and it came out pretty good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This recipe was OK, but nothing special. I cut the oil in half---glad I did or it would have been too greasy. I threw away my left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I used maybe 1/4 cup of white onion, I omitted the garlic (but used a couple shakes of garlic powder with the salt and pepper), and I added 1 stalk of celery, chopped, and ½ cup or so of broccoli florets. And this turned out just okay. My husband was not thrilled, and my daughter wouldn't touch it (although she enjoyed the plain buttered orzo I saved for her). Once we added some soya sauce to our plates, this dish was MUCH better. It saved the recipe. :) Thanks, AMulhern, you made me aware that I could interchange rice and orzo sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Great! I didn't have any lemon juice so I just omitted it. Just before I served it I put in two TBS of fresh parmesan and it was GREAT! My family loved it and it was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States