Vegetable Medley I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good recipe. My 9 year-old loved it and he has never liked squash. Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Not bad! I just did a couple of modifications and came out with an awesome vegie dish. (1) I read the other reviews and added much more in the way of herbs. I much more prefer fresh than dried, but sometimes the garden doesn't give over. I did use fresh oregano, which gave it a really nice flavor. I never use salt and pepper but it wasn't necessary, because canned tomatoes generally are high in sodium. (2) I really like my vegies crisp. With that in mind, I sauteed the onions and peppers first and added the squash later. I did not sautee as long as the recipe called for. (3) My can of diced tomatoes was only 14.5 ounces. (4) I served it over rice. I didn't feel that it came out "soupy" at all, but was happy for some liquid at the bottom for my rice. Hubby was happy, I was happy, and I've found a new way to use yellow squash and zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My whole family loved this recipe. It tastes like summer- fresh and warm. I added some herbs from our small community garden plot- thyme and basil- and it was perfect. I will definitely make it again- even my tomato hater thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
First of all, the picture does not do this dish justice!! It is excellent! I only changed it a little bit. Instead of 1/2 tsp of basil, I used 1 tsp.; Red bell pepper instead of green; Did not use salt; Drained the tomatoes (basil, garlic & oregano flavored); Mixed in the parmesan before baking; Baked for 10 mins.; Added 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella to the top and baked for an additional 10 minutes. This would make a great filling for vegetable lasagna!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This dish was delicious. Next time I will drain the tomatoes. I found it to be a bit soupy but then pur some of the juices out. I will definietly be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drea
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Seemed a little bland - I added more bell peppers and used fresh tomatoes. It still came out a little watery so if you use canned tomatoes, be sure to drain it. I also added mozzerela to the parmesan. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I'm not sure what the point of baking after sauteing was- the consistency did not seem to change much. I will just use the first part of this recipe to get the blend of herb and vegetable flavors. I agree with the other reviewers that adding the tomatoes gave too much water. This froze well and tasted great after reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
WoW! I have been making this recipe since June. This is DELICIOUS! My whole family loves it and doesn't mind having it 2 or 3 weeks in a row. I always put extra cheese in it and usually serve it with pasta. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have a bell pepper but I added some mushrooms to the sauteed veggies - it was a natural fit. I also added more basil (about a teaspoon) and some garlic salt. It was the perfect recipe for using up that summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I used extra parmesan and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcie82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Sugar Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States