Vegetable Medley I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was wonderful! I made this according to the recipe but I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of 16 oz and I did not have the watery problem some have experienced. I served this with Rice-a-roni on the side but it would have gone well over pasta since it makes enough sauce without being watery. Both of my children cleaned their plates and had seconds. My husband prefers to have some kind of meat for dinner, and even he said he could eat 10 plates of that. I will be making this again and again. Thank you for a healthy and satisfying recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good recipe. My 9 year-old loved it and he has never liked squash. Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Not bad! I just did a couple of modifications and came out with an awesome vegie dish. (1) I read the other reviews and added much more in the way of herbs. I much more prefer fresh than dried, but sometimes the garden doesn't give over. I did use fresh oregano, which gave it a really nice flavor. I never use salt and pepper but it wasn't necessary, because canned tomatoes generally are high in sodium. (2) I really like my vegies crisp. With that in mind, I sauteed the onions and peppers first and added the squash later. I did not sautee as long as the recipe called for. (3) My can of diced tomatoes was only 14.5 ounces. (4) I served it over rice. I didn't feel that it came out "soupy" at all, but was happy for some liquid at the bottom for my rice. Hubby was happy, I was happy, and I've found a new way to use yellow squash and zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My whole family loved this recipe. It tastes like summer- fresh and warm. I added some herbs from our small community garden plot- thyme and basil- and it was perfect. I will definitely make it again- even my tomato hater thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
First of all, the picture does not do this dish justice!! It is excellent! I only changed it a little bit. Instead of 1/2 tsp of basil, I used 1 tsp.; Red bell pepper instead of green; Did not use salt; Drained the tomatoes (basil, garlic & oregano flavored); Mixed in the parmesan before baking; Baked for 10 mins.; Added 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella to the top and baked for an additional 10 minutes. This would make a great filling for vegetable lasagna!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This dish was delicious. Next time I will drain the tomatoes. I found it to be a bit soupy but then pur some of the juices out. I will definietly be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drea
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Seemed a little bland - I added more bell peppers and used fresh tomatoes. It still came out a little watery so if you use canned tomatoes, be sure to drain it. I also added mozzerela to the parmesan. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I'm not sure what the point of baking after sauteing was- the consistency did not seem to change much. I will just use the first part of this recipe to get the blend of herb and vegetable flavors. I agree with the other reviewers that adding the tomatoes gave too much water. This froze well and tasted great after reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
WoW! I have been making this recipe since June. This is DELICIOUS! My whole family loves it and doesn't mind having it 2 or 3 weeks in a row. I always put extra cheese in it and usually serve it with pasta. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have a bell pepper but I added some mushrooms to the sauteed veggies - it was a natural fit. I also added more basil (about a teaspoon) and some garlic salt. It was the perfect recipe for using up that summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Chef John's Spring Vegetable Frittata

Enjoy this quick and easy vegetable frittata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States