Vegetable Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I don't have a microwave so I boiled the veggies until the potatoes were cooked through, which worked well and saved time. I also used frozen peas instead of green beans and about half a can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh, but otherwise followed the recipe closely. I was making this for friends with a low spiciness threshold, so the seasonings were perfect. If I were making it again for myself or those with a higher spice tolerance, I would probably add cayenne or extra chilli powder for a bit more heat. Overall, very tasty as a side dish. I served it with saffron rice and chana masala for a filling vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was great! Even my meat eating husband liked it. I threw in kidney beans to give it something extra for him and we used sweet potatoes instead of white. I also increased the ginger just because I love that spice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygrl4evr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Very easy dish that tastes heavenly. I added about a cup of water to make it "saucier" and served over brown rice. I'll be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used only half of the water and substituted the rest of the water with coconut milk. I also doubled the spices. This is one of our favorite dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Naderhoff-Croll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Beans are a nice addition and I prefer canned tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
4.5 stars. Very well spiced and lots of good veggies. I took to a school potluck with a side of couscous and it was very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I really did not like this recipe. The potatoes did not cook in the microwave at all. The flavor needed some creaminess to it and it was way to dry. I gave it two starts because my husband like it. I was really hoping this was going to be good. I've been searching for an amazing vegetable masala recipes and still have not found one I like. Sorry, not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I've made this several times. it's a forgiving recipes (oops, didn't get the cumin in on time, still comes out great). It's becoming a favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefJade
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Omitted the green beans and used garbanzo beans. I like more sauce so I added sm can of tomato paste with water & veg broth. Also, I added more garam masala. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJade

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used canned tomatoes (any kind).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States