Vegetable Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It is more like a banquet or festival recipe than everyday cooking. I ate often in China Town NYC and depending on menu, some are as elaborate. Also depends on which province's cooking you are most familiar with. But honestly? 1/4 tsp cayenne overwhelming? I guess here in Tejas we just like it hot. A suggestion for those that are off put by curry, which is in fact used in some areas of China or by those whose families employ Indian chefs, substitute 5 spice powder instead. Be aware that it has "sweet" spices in it, so you may also find this an acquired taste. A quick study on the internet at Chinese cultural sites will give you a background that may be helpful. I have spent my life in arm chair study of the cuisine of China, both elaborate and simple. Banquet style always involves many dishes and a nice staff to prepare...sigh. Where is my staff?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made a few substitutes. Extra veggies on hand, spinach, brocolli, celery.... No Hoison used swieet soy glaze, little extra cornstarch to thicken--cooked separately and then added. Used a combination of sesame oil, hot chili oil, and Vegtable oil. Used vegetable broth. Had no cabbage or sprouts on had. Be creative--taste as u make. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this dish this evening for dinner. We wanted Chinese but I refuse to order takeout on a Sunday!! (Lol). I followed the recipe closely & was pleasantly surprised! I only changed a few things. Instead of using vegetable oil, I used olive oil. Next time I make it I'm going to try coconut oil. I did not have a green onion so I just used a regular onion. I also did not have any bean sprouts , so I added some chopped celery in just to have a little crunch! The dish was a little sweet I might add a little more cayenne pepper next time. Overall, a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maddie
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
On this recipe I add chicken breast chunks and once served I add a little extra soy sauce over and had dinner rolls as a side. It came out delicious if you haven't you need too . Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Really great dish. I used about a half teaspoon of curry paste instead of powder and omitted the green onions. Will make it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
We really enjoyed this! The only changes we'd make would be to try to push the sauce away from sweet and more toward savory - lessen the hoisin and/or eliminate the honey and use more sesame oil in the sauteing and soy sauce in the sauce. Overall, though, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was easy to assemble, and the family enjoyed it. It took a little over 45 minutes to cook down, so this is not the fast recipe it appeared to be. It also was a bit salty for my taste. Next time, I think I'll try low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Honestly I wasn't expecting much out of this since I was wary about the hoisin sauce...but I thought the end product was pretty tasty! It's sweet and spicy. Used barely any honey (maybe 1 tsp), added a pinch of pepper flakes, added chili sauce & sriracha, and omitted curry powder. Obviously this is named Vegetable lo mein, but I added poached chicken in chicken broth to the dish and after poaching the chicken, I used the broth in the lo mein. Adds good flavor and protein to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
i use recipes as a guide and motivation, and adapting to what i have at hand. this one, i used spinach fettucine, fire roasted frozen veggies from costco, fresh white onion, fresh green peppers, fresh garlic. only 1 tsp of honey, lite soy sauce. didnt add the hoisin as my kids like it spicy (but will try later for adults). the sauce is so flavorful! actually, i added some tbs. of the starchy boiling water to incorporate everything. love it! angchick, you did great, thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Absolutely loved this lo mein! I only made two slight changes. Didn't realize that I had run out of hoison sauce, so subbed oyster sauce. Delicious! I also added an additional 1/2 cup of green bell pepper for more color and nutrition. Sliced up a leftover grilled pork steak for lunch as Pork Lo Mein today. Thanks for this keeper, ANGCHICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States