Vegetable Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Made this recipe last night. Excellent Lo Mein. Better then take-out any day of the week. My family said that this is a keeper. Will be making this for my friends and family and partys all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I enjoyed this. To reduce the calorie count I left out the oil and honey. I used cooking spray and hoisin is sweet enough without honey. I also added 2 chicken breasts. 9 WW+points with pasta and chicken. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It is more like a banquet or festival recipe than everyday cooking. I ate often in China Town NYC and depending on menu, some are as elaborate. Also depends on which province's cooking you are most familiar with. But honestly? 1/4 tsp cayenne overwhelming? I guess here in Tejas we just like it hot. A suggestion for those that are off put by curry, which is in fact used in some areas of China or by those whose families employ Indian chefs, substitute 5 spice powder instead. Be aware that it has "sweet" spices in it, so you may also find this an acquired taste. A quick study on the internet at Chinese cultural sites will give you a background that may be helpful. I have spent my life in arm chair study of the cuisine of China, both elaborate and simple. Banquet style always involves many dishes and a nice staff to prepare...sigh. Where is my staff?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made a few substitutes. Extra veggies on hand, spinach, brocolli, celery.... No Hoison used swieet soy glaze, little extra cornstarch to thicken--cooked separately and then added. Used a combination of sesame oil, hot chili oil, and Vegtable oil. Used vegetable broth. Had no cabbage or sprouts on had. Be creative--taste as u make. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this dish this evening for dinner. We wanted Chinese but I refuse to order takeout on a Sunday!! (Lol). I followed the recipe closely & was pleasantly surprised! I only changed a few things. Instead of using vegetable oil, I used olive oil. Next time I make it I'm going to try coconut oil. I did not have a green onion so I just used a regular onion. I also did not have any bean sprouts , so I added some chopped celery in just to have a little crunch! The dish was a little sweet I might add a little more cayenne pepper next time. Overall, a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maddie
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
On this recipe I add chicken breast chunks and once served I add a little extra soy sauce over and had dinner rolls as a side. It came out delicious if you haven't you need too . Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Really great dish. I used about a half teaspoon of curry paste instead of powder and omitted the green onions. Will make it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
We really enjoyed this! The only changes we'd make would be to try to push the sauce away from sweet and more toward savory - lessen the hoisin and/or eliminate the honey and use more sesame oil in the sauteing and soy sauce in the sauce. Overall, though, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was easy to assemble, and the family enjoyed it. It took a little over 45 minutes to cook down, so this is not the fast recipe it appeared to be. It also was a bit salty for my taste. Next time, I think I'll try low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Honestly I wasn't expecting much out of this since I was wary about the hoisin sauce...but I thought the end product was pretty tasty! It's sweet and spicy. Used barely any honey (maybe 1 tsp), added a pinch of pepper flakes, added chili sauce & sriracha, and omitted curry powder. Obviously this is named Vegetable lo mein, but I added poached chicken in chicken broth to the dish and after poaching the chicken, I used the broth in the lo mein. Adds good flavor and protein to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States