Vegetable Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good just a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Made this recipe last night. Excellent Lo Mein. Better then take-out any day of the week. My family said that this is a keeper. Will be making this for my friends and family and partys all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I enjoyed this. To reduce the calorie count I left out the oil and honey. I used cooking spray and hoisin is sweet enough without honey. I also added 2 chicken breasts. 9 WW+points with pasta and chicken. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It is more like a banquet or festival recipe than everyday cooking. I ate often in China Town NYC and depending on menu, some are as elaborate. Also depends on which province's cooking you are most familiar with. But honestly? 1/4 tsp cayenne overwhelming? I guess here in Tejas we just like it hot. A suggestion for those that are off put by curry, which is in fact used in some areas of China or by those whose families employ Indian chefs, substitute 5 spice powder instead. Be aware that it has "sweet" spices in it, so you may also find this an acquired taste. A quick study on the internet at Chinese cultural sites will give you a background that may be helpful. I have spent my life in arm chair study of the cuisine of China, both elaborate and simple. Banquet style always involves many dishes and a nice staff to prepare...sigh. Where is my staff?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made a few substitutes. Extra veggies on hand, spinach, brocolli, celery.... No Hoison used swieet soy glaze, little extra cornstarch to thicken--cooked separately and then added. Used a combination of sesame oil, hot chili oil, and Vegtable oil. Used vegetable broth. Had no cabbage or sprouts on had. Be creative--taste as u make. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this dish this evening for dinner. We wanted Chinese but I refuse to order takeout on a Sunday!! (Lol). I followed the recipe closely & was pleasantly surprised! I only changed a few things. Instead of using vegetable oil, I used olive oil. Next time I make it I'm going to try coconut oil. I did not have a green onion so I just used a regular onion. I also did not have any bean sprouts , so I added some chopped celery in just to have a little crunch! The dish was a little sweet I might add a little more cayenne pepper next time. Overall, a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maddie
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
On this recipe I add chicken breast chunks and once served I add a little extra soy sauce over and had dinner rolls as a side. It came out delicious if you haven't you need too . Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Really great dish. I used about a half teaspoon of curry paste instead of powder and omitted the green onions. Will make it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
We really enjoyed this! The only changes we'd make would be to try to push the sauce away from sweet and more toward savory - lessen the hoisin and/or eliminate the honey and use more sesame oil in the sauteing and soy sauce in the sauce. Overall, though, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was easy to assemble, and the family enjoyed it. It took a little over 45 minutes to cook down, so this is not the fast recipe it appeared to be. It also was a bit salty for my taste. Next time, I think I'll try low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States