Vegetable Koftas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I just made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious!! I didn't stick to the recipe completely, I omitted Turmeric and did not use any bread in the koftas. They held up okay when I fried them, but maybe I'll add an egg next time. Also I used tomato sauce instead of puree and I decided to puree the sauce when it cooled. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were a nightmare to make. They crumbled in the fryer. We were very disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter. The crumbled bits that we scooped from the fryer were delicious, which made it even more disappointing that they did not hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krishan
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
The recipe is a great base to start with. I found that I had to increase the liquid for the "gravy" because the original recipe came out like a paste. So, I added about 4 oz. of tomato sauce and increased the milk to 1 cup. I also added some white raisins to the "gravy" which really made it taste spectacular! As for the kofta balls, I first diced up 1 1/2 potatoes into small cubes and cooked them until soft in lot's of Indian spices (such as tumeric, masala...). Once the mashed potato mixture cooled, I beat one egg and rolled the potato balls into the egg and then I fried them. They didn't fall apart at all this way! It was very tasty made this way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was a MAJOR disappointment. I love this dish at restaurants and was really excited to try t at home. I substituted sliced almonds for the cashews in the gravy and added raisins. The gravy was really, really good, although it could have been a little spicier. In fact, the gravy's the only reason I'm giving this more than 1 star. The koftas, however, were terrible. They fell completely apart in the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I also had a problem with the kofta being too soft. I did not moisten the bread and I allowed the potatoes and vegetables to dry before mashing/chopping them. When I went to fry the first batch, they disintegrated in the oil and were not salvagable. I devised this fix: I added 1 beaten egg to the remaining mixture (I had enough remaing for about 2 dozen more balls) and baked the balls in a 400 degree oven on a well greased sheet pan with more oil lightly sprayed over the top of them. They baked for about 30 minutes, and when cool, were just firm enough to stir into gravy. The gravy, by the way, was outstanding on its own - would be great with paneer or chicken, too. I used an 8 oz can of tomato sauce instead of paste. Served with basmati rice and Naan(recipe from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Great flavor. Next time, I will not soak the bread, and will use tomato sauce rather than tomato paste for the gravy. This will make it more like the restaurants serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
very tasty recipe.The koftas were a little too soft for me so I may not soak the bread next time and I will try it with fresh vegetables, I will certainly make this again, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I really liked this recipe, especially the tomato sauce was delicious. However, the Koftas itself were a bit too soft for my taste. Next time I would probably use a type of potato with a higher starch content (I had used red potatoes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catrin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States