Vegetable Feta Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Didn't like it the first time I made it but with a few changes it was transformed into a dish worthy of a four star rating. Reduce the onion by at least half. Saute onion and celery just until tender before adding to cucumber and feta. Add a few greek olives to jazz it up. Cut preparation time way down by cooking rice in microwave. Has a great feta taste which was hidden by all the raw onion in original recipe. I served this with "Grecian Pork Tenderloin" for a lovely Greek-style meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This recipe definitely needs some enhancement as it was rather bland! I added salt and oregano. I would decrease the amount of red onion (was overpowering) and possibly increase the oil and vinegar. If you do all of this, I think you'll be much better satisfied with the results. I'll make it again, but only by enhancing it as I've stated here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
We really really enjoyed this. The heat from the rice brings out the flavours of the feta(I used garlic-herb flavoured feta) very nicely and the crunch from the veggies is a nice surprise. I diced my veggies fairly small, and I only used half an onion. I agree that a whole cup would have been too overpowering. This was great cold the next day for lunch with some cold leftover chicken chopped into it. It's always great when you try something and it turns out to be better than you were expecting! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I sauteed the onions and celery in butter, but not for too long. I still wanted the vegetables to have a little crunch. Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Loved this! I sauteed the onion and celery and used only 1/2c of onion. I used garlic/herb feta. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This was a pleasant change from regular rice. I sprayed a non-stick pan and sauted the onion and celery for a bit. I also added sliced black olives. Enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was very good! It did need a few changes though. As per other reviewers I added half the onion called for. Instead of vinegar, I used fresh squeezed lemon juice and added fresh, chopped cilantro, minced garlic and basil to taste. Between the warmth of the rice, the tang of the feta, the crunch of the vegetables and the fresh herbs and lemon..there was a party going on in my mouth! Thank you Danielle for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovefoodinPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Everyone in my family loved this. I hate celery so i added some chopped green capsicum and that tasted really nice. If you are using as a side dish for a family of four a would recommend only using one cup of rice. This is definity a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I did not care for this at all. I ended up throwing the whole thing away. I definitely would not recommend this, BUT if you are thinking about trying it, I would offer these tips: sautee the onions and celery and make sure you don't cook the rice too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLIVIAC15163

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hugheston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Really good! I added some rosemary and thyme into the water while cooking the rice. I didnt have any cucumber OR celery, so I used chopped sugar snap peas instead. Along with the red onion and feta it was yummy! I also used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine to give it a more Greek flavor. All in all I was happy with the results. When I have the proper ingredients I will be sure to retry and follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States