Vegetable Feta Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This was a pleasant change from regular rice. I sprayed a non-stick pan and sauted the onion and celery for a bit. I also added sliced black olives. Enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Didn't like it the first time I made it but with a few changes it was transformed into a dish worthy of a four star rating. Reduce the onion by at least half. Saute onion and celery just until tender before adding to cucumber and feta. Add a few greek olives to jazz it up. Cut preparation time way down by cooking rice in microwave. Has a great feta taste which was hidden by all the raw onion in original recipe. I served this with "Grecian Pork Tenderloin" for a lovely Greek-style meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Delicious side dish for chicken or fish! I used balsamic vinegar once, and have also tried it with bismati rice. It's quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
refreshing change to rice, its texture and taste. Plus, the recipe's ability to prepare for refrigeration to serve later is a huge plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Wow - what a great way to spruce up plain (and extremely cheap!) white rice. It never would have occurred to me to combine these ingredients together with rice, but it turned out fantastically. The dish had a pleasantly strong Mediterranean flavor as well, despite such a small amount of oil and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Very subtle flavors, a great side dish for any meal! I love rice and this is a great way to "dress it up". Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMU3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Left out the celery only because I didn't have any in the house and it was fabulous anyway! Easy to make and yum! I thought the recipie was right on the mark. I expect to make this one lots in the future. Thanks Danielle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I found this to be a tasty variation from the usual. I did cook the onion first and made a slight substitution with the vinegar. I used balsamic instead of the red wine. I had this rice on one other occasion with ham and decided to also add some fresh pineapple chunks to it. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
There is beauty in simplicity! I've been making this dish for a few years now and thought I should rate/review it. It is quite refreshing and easy, easy, easy to make. I have also used orzo instead of rice which worked just as well. Black olives are also a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
This rice was even better than I had imagined it would be. The oil and vinegar dressing is very light. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetable and Feta Latkes

What’s the key to crispy latkes? Watch this video and find out.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States