Vegetable Dill Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made this as written with two exceptions: (1) I used celery salt plus a couple pinches of garlic and onion powder to equal 1 teaspoon instead of the Beau Monde seasoning, and (2) I only had fresh parsley on hand, so I minced it and trippled it to 3 T. I haven't even let it set yet, and the dip is delightful! I love the tanginess added by the mayo. I noticed some people altered the ratios of sour cream and mayo, probably for this reason ... So if you like tangy, acid flavors like vinegar and lemon, then by all means try this as written. If you prefer the creamier aspect of dairy cream, then increase the sour cream/mayo ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Have been using a version of this for years; a great way to get kids to eat their veggies. I substitute the sour cream with natural yogurt and the ratio of yogurt to mayo is likely 1 1/3 yogurt and 2/3 mayo. I just eyeball all the ingredients and taste as I go! The yogurt adds a tangy flavour that we all really enjoy. I also use fresh dill if I have it on hand and spring onion. Have tried various types of seasoning salts, and also add additional celery salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Awesome so many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is one of my favorites! My mom made this, and I make it often. Beau Monde is definitely one of those spices that you don't use very often, but definitely makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle C McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Love it! So easy, a little different, and perfect with fresh veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I couldn't find beau monde seasoning so I substituted Cavender's seasoning. I made the dip the night before, which allowed the flavors to blend together. The bowl was scraped at the party. I thought it was pretty good & obviously my guests agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Have been making this for 40 years and it is a fave. Only difference between this one and mine is to use chopped green onion and seasoned salt, which is close to the same as Beau Monde, I think. Also tried another version that has a dash of worcestershire and Tabasco. If a person thought it was too salty, reduce the seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is very good! A few slight changes though. I've made this 3 times now. I use a limitless more sour cream than mayo ( 1 1/4 sc and 3/4 mayo). I prefer more of sour cream flavor than mayo. I also put a punch more of dill weed and added fresh black pepper. Serve in a pumpernickel bread bowl. Yummmmmyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
A good, basic dip for veggies. I always have these spices available so I can whip this up anytime, instead of having to buy the packet mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Well, I was excited to try this from reading the glowing reviews, but I was not impressed...could have used a store-bought packet. The only change I made was green onion. Won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States