Vegetable Dill Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
PERFECT! PERFECT! PERFECT! I didn't have the Beau Monde and researched that celery salt is a good substitute. Did I say it was PERFECT?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I was also given this recipe over 50 years ago. It is still a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Substitute for Beau Monde-- OLD BAY SEASONING! I googled the ingredients and both were so close. Being the type to run to the store to make it perfectly, but finding the time close to midnight, I settled for this sub and it was GREAT! I also used a 16-oz container of sour cream (2 cups) and a cup of mayo, then did a 1 1/2 recipe of spices (24 servings). Thanks for a super make-it-yourself dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
A very good classic dip. I used some seasoned salt, garlic powder, and paprika in place of the Beau Monde seasoning, since I did not have it, and that worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Yum - great recipe! I also substituted seasoned salt because I couldn't find the beau monde seasoning. Will keep looking though, as I would like to use it in this recipe. I am overrun with cucumbers from my garden, so I am cutting them up and eating them with this dip for a very tasty snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Delicious! Per other reviewer's suggestions I used 1 1/3 C. sour cream and 2/3 C. mayo. Full fat makes for a creamier dip (ie, not diet food, but oh so good:). Instead of Beau Monde I used 3/4 tsp garlic salt and 1/4 tsp onion powder. Letting it sit overnight is essential. It was so good my husband dipped everything on his plate in it; raw veggies, dinner rolls, meat. We loved it. Thanks, Catwoman2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedmamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Made this exactly according to the recipe and found it to be an excellent dip for fresh pea pods. This goes into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Excellent dip!! I didn't have any Beau Monde seasoning so I used regular seasoned salt instead and it tastes just like dip my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Great base recipe but I didn't really follow much of it in the end. I used fresh dill (3 tablespoons chopped), and also tripled the onion (using red onion). Sometimes I omit the parsley it doesn't seem to make a huge difference, and I can't find Blue Monde seasoning so I use garlic powder and salt to taste. The only part you can't ignore is that it really does need to sit overnight! Thanks for the base :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENA13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This dip was certainly good. I made it exactly as written (and yes, I had to shop around for the acclaimed Beau Monde spice) and while my guests and I certainly enjoyed it - I didn't see how this tasted any different than the package of seasoning my mom always bought and dumped in a container of sour cream. Guess I'm not sure why I'd even bother if you can't tell the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States