Vegetable Dill Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is a FABULOUS dip! I tasted it 25 years ago and have been looking for the right recipe since. I made it recently and it IS the one I remember! (I only added a couple shakes of course-ground pepper) I am so happy to have stumbled on it. You can't go wrong w/ this dip. **The tough part was finding the "Beau Monde" spice (which is a unique mix of salt, celery & onion powder: "Spice Islands®" is the brand I found in a regular grocery store finally & use now). Also a good spice for use in any cold summer salads. Thanks for sharing, CATWOMAN2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I use Seasoned Salt instead of Beau Monde seasoning and 2 tablespoons of the dill, parsley and onion. My husband uses this as a chip and pretzel dip too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have been making this dip for 50 years and there is nothing better. Be sure to use vegetables, radishes, cauliflower, broccoli, celery, cherry tomatoes. Sometimes I put an extra shake of the spices in. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Substitute for Beau Monde-- OLD BAY SEASONING! I googled the ingredients and both were so close. Being the type to run to the store to make it perfectly, but finding the time close to midnight, I settled for this sub and it was GREAT! I also used a 16-oz container of sour cream (2 cups) and a cup of mayo, then did a 1 1/2 recipe of spices (24 servings). Thanks for a super make-it-yourself dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
A nice, basic, familiar vegetable dip recipe that has stood the test of time and remained popular for decades. I used green onion but beyond that made this as written. Hubs thought it had a tad too much mayonnaise but I think it's just fine. If you can't find Beau Monde you could easily substitute some onion powder and celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I liked this dip a lot. I didn't have Beau Monde seasoning, so I just made a "seasoned salt" with salt, black pepper, garlic powder, paprika and celery seed. It turned out great. I couldn't stop eating it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is the dip I remember from many, many years ago! I finally found the Beau Monde in a specialty food store here in Pensacola (pricey!) but it was worth it to taste that flavor again. I like the addition of the minced onion. The recipe doesn't state if it's fresh or dried but I used dried and I like that flavor. Thank you CATWOMAN2 for this nostalgic yet delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
After having broccoli & dill dip at work last week I was on a mission to make myself a low fat dill dip for healthy snacks. I substituted Fat Free Sour Cream and Mayo light to bring the calorie count down to less than 35 per tablespoon. I'm sure the regular version would be fantastic as well! Thanks for posting this CATWOMAN2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Yum - great recipe! I also substituted seasoned salt because I couldn't find the beau monde seasoning. Will keep looking though, as I would like to use it in this recipe. I am overrun with cucumbers from my garden, so I am cutting them up and eating them with this dip for a very tasty snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was excellent! Not too overwhelming on the dill and I found it strangely appealing with pretzels. I also could not find the store bought Beau Monde seasoning, but simply created the recipe from scratch: 1 T. ground cloves 1 tsp. ground cinnamon 1 T. salt 1 T. ground bay leaf 1 T. ground allspice 2 T. ground pepper 1 T. ground white pepper 1 tsp. ground nutmeg 1 tsp. ground mace 1 tsp. celery seed Plenty of seasoning left over for the many times I will make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States