Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
My husband loved this. I cooked the potatoes and cauliflower first though. Also added 1/2 c. frozen peas at his request. Great flavor, smells wonderful. Spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I didn't have tumeric or red pepper. I thought it was very good anyway. I added a little water twice to help cook the potatoes and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was okay. I added a little extra curry powder and turmeric. I found it was a little dry so during cooking, added some water. (I would have used chick.broth but I didn't have any on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Like another member suggested, I cooked the veggies first, until they had about five minutes left to go. Then I added them to the skillet and also added about 1/2 cup of water to evenly coat the veggies. Served over rice, I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is a great recipe to tinker with! I don't think the estimated prep/cook time is accurate though...it's more like an hour at least by the time you prepare all the vegetables and let them steam to perfection. Not a quick fix meal by any means, but well worth the effort! Make a big batch so you can freeze it and enjoy for a quick lunch/dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This dish seems like it is missing some sort of key ingredient but I can't figure out what it is. I also think that it would taste a little better with fewer potatoes in it. I followed the advice of an earlier reviewer and added frozen peas to the dish which I thought were very yummy, and I also ended up adding about a cup of water while I was cooking the veggies in order to keep them from getting too dry, and to make a bit of a sauce for the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I love this dish all by itself and have made it repeadetly. I use frozen cauliflower and carrots and always keep them on hand so i can make this dish at the drop of a hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I added peas, because someone else suggested it and it did need something green. I also added some water to keep it from drying out and a couple boullion cubes so it wouldn't get watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was a great recipe that even my curry-wary husband loved. I made a few changes though. 1. Cut out the butter - indulgent and not needed. A touch of oil did the job. 2. I accidentally read the recipe backwards and doubled the tumeric and halved the curry. It was a wise mistake! It came out so yummy this way. We ate it in fresh whole wheat pita bread and loved it! It's also great as a cold snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Very tasty, but i made changes as per some other reviews. I added enough water and vegetable stock for the vegetables to cook without pre-cooking, and added peas (good tip). I also upped the curry powder and turmeric, and added 3 large spoonfuls of creme fraiche 10 minutes before serving to make a creamy sauce. Served with pilau rice, poppodums and naan, this was a lovely alterntaive to a meat curry, and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States