Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was very tastey, but definitely did require some extra cooking and moisture for the carrots and potatoes. I also added garbanzo beans and garlic, and everybody, myself, my 2 year old, and my husband, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very tasty, but yes, water is needed pour a little at a time, as it will cook into the veggies quickly served over quinoa, which is a little healthier recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Even when I took others' advice and added two cups of water and peas and yogurt this still ended up as a fairly bland curry. Perhaps that's because of a lack of decent curry powder but even so, not the greatest curry recipe. My search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Yum. I did boil the cauliflower and potatoes while I sauteed the onion and carrot. I also added frozen peas as suggested. I enjoyed this dish more the second day after the flavors had time to sit over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a pretty good quick curry recipe. It's definitely a lighter version than with the coconut milk. I did add about 2 cups of veggie broth and some arrowroot powder (about 1.5 tsp) to thicken the sauce up a bit. Very yummy and not much left for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Agree this is a great starter recipe with so many possible variations. Some type of liquid is definitely needed in order to simmer the vegetables. Liked the suggestions of tomato paste and creme fraiche. I substituted thick chunks of yellow squash for the potatoes but may use potatoes another time. Didn't realize I had no turmeric on hand until I had the preparation well underway. I omitted the salt(because I used chicken broth)and pepper(reviewer's tip)and even with these omissions we thought it was very good. Since I didn't use potatoes I didn't see the need to pre-cook the vegetables so my cooking time was still only about 20-25 minutes. Glad I saw this recipe and thanks for the previous reviews - will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I added pumpkin to this, it was so delicious and really easy to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
we added broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
this is a very good starter recipe! It easily accepts substitution of whatever vegetables you happen to have on hand. I used fresh instead of frozen. I added nutritional yeast for a thickening (didn't have tomato paste on hand) and red pepper flakes to spice it up. I agree with the many before me, if you like a lot of "kick" add more curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I followed many suggestions (thanks!) and also added my own: I agree that there should be way more curry powder than called for, and I added spinach and chickpeas at the very end for some fibre and more vegies. Everyone thought it was "ok" but not amazing. I'm going to play around a bit more with the spices and seasonings next time and maybe it'll move up to 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States