Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
My husband loved this. I cooked the potatoes and cauliflower first though. Also added 1/2 c. frozen peas at his request. Great flavor, smells wonderful. Spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I didn't have tumeric or red pepper. I thought it was very good anyway. I added a little water twice to help cook the potatoes and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was okay. I added a little extra curry powder and turmeric. I found it was a little dry so during cooking, added some water. (I would have used chick.broth but I didn't have any on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Like another member suggested, I cooked the veggies first, until they had about five minutes left to go. Then I added them to the skillet and also added about 1/2 cup of water to evenly coat the veggies. Served over rice, I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is a great recipe to tinker with! I don't think the estimated prep/cook time is accurate though...it's more like an hour at least by the time you prepare all the vegetables and let them steam to perfection. Not a quick fix meal by any means, but well worth the effort! Make a big batch so you can freeze it and enjoy for a quick lunch/dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This dish seems like it is missing some sort of key ingredient but I can't figure out what it is. I also think that it would taste a little better with fewer potatoes in it. I followed the advice of an earlier reviewer and added frozen peas to the dish which I thought were very yummy, and I also ended up adding about a cup of water while I was cooking the veggies in order to keep them from getting too dry, and to make a bit of a sauce for the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I love this dish all by itself and have made it repeadetly. I use frozen cauliflower and carrots and always keep them on hand so i can make this dish at the drop of a hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I added peas, because someone else suggested it and it did need something green. I also added some water to keep it from drying out and a couple boullion cubes so it wouldn't get watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was a great recipe that even my curry-wary husband loved. I made a few changes though. 1. Cut out the butter - indulgent and not needed. A touch of oil did the job. 2. I accidentally read the recipe backwards and doubled the tumeric and halved the curry. It was a wise mistake! It came out so yummy this way. We ate it in fresh whole wheat pita bread and loved it! It's also great as a cold snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Very tasty, but i made changes as per some other reviews. I added enough water and vegetable stock for the vegetables to cook without pre-cooking, and added peas (good tip). I also upped the curry powder and turmeric, and added 3 large spoonfuls of creme fraiche 10 minutes before serving to make a creamy sauce. Served with pilau rice, poppodums and naan, this was a lovely alterntaive to a meat curry, and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States